We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The oysters are quite tasty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 190 Restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“The oysters are quite tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed lunch at the Half Shell Oyster House. The grilled oysters and the gumbo were very good. They even have some local beers to compliment your meal!

The restaurant is only two blocks from the shoreline and the casinos. I give the place high marks.

Lunch for 2 with drinks and tip was $50.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    216
    61
    21
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

my boyfriend and I were staying at the hard rock and the bartender told us about this place omg it was fantastic from the service to the meal we go every time we are in town please give it a try around dinner time is the best it is a local place very friendly

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went here because the reviews on here recommended it. My daughter and I ate there for dinner on a Monday afternoon about 4:00. There was hardly anyone eating at this time and the place was almost empty. We were taken upstairs - were not given the option of eating downstairs. Then we were taken all the way to the back of the restaurant to a table in the back corner. This seemed odd to us as there were so many tables open. My daughter ordered beer and I had chardonnay which were both reasonably priced because we were there at happy hour. we ordered the dozen oysters on the half shell ($13.99) which tasted fine, but when they came to our table they were floating in water because the ice had already melted. I ordered the Royal Reds and a half shell salad, and my daughter had the stuffed portabello dinner with the half shell salad as well. The salad dressing was so sour we only ate about half of the salad. My shrimp tasted fine but were kind of mushy - not sure why. My daughter's portabello mushrooms were okay, but she would not order them again. She had an upset stomach later that evening and was sick all night. Not sure what was the cause. Our bill with tip ended up being over $80!!! We will not be going back to this restaurant. We had a dozen oysters at Mikey's the next day for $5.00 and they were way better and came on a tray of ice, not water. Live and learn.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just continues to be good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been here in the past and always enjoyed. This trip no exception as we ate here two times. Sat downstairs in the bar and enjoyed the Royal Reds and Orleans oysters. Just fantastic. If you haven't tried them they are a must. Later we ate at the upstairs bar. Tried the plain charbroiled oysters and the fried green tomatoes with a half shell salad. All were good. The several times that we have eaten here the staff has always been super, the food has always been good and we have enjoyed every meal. Just a short walk from the Beau or Hardrock and definitely worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ate here our first night in town. There was no wait. Atmosphere was great! Great service! Oysters were good.. Royal reds were not eatable which was disappointing but server handled immediately without any problems. Crabcakes and fried green tomatoes were phenomenal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.