We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think we hit it on an off night...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I think we hit it on an off night...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate at this restaurant based on rave reviews from locals and Trip Advisor reviews. We did not have the great experience other diners have had. One of our two cocktails was garnished with thawed, pale, frozen fruit. We ordered the Tempura Battered Asparagus appetizer which was fine and the Royal Reds Shrimp which were overcooked and falling apart. We had Oysters and the Crab Cake special for dinner, both of which were average. We did have a waitress who was absolutely fabulous. Based on others reviews, if I return to Biloxi, I would give this restaurant another try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    260
    71
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3rd visit-just as good as before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In an optimal location and nice building, definitely has the feel of a nicer restaurant. Food is overall above average with the highlight being the oysters of course. I recommend the sampler.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went for lunch. My husband had the broiled oysters which he had never tried. LOVED THEM. I ordered the crab cakes over asparagus . Wonderful ! The service was excellent. The restaurant was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful taste of the sea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dinner with friends at the Half Shell Oyster House in Biloxi, Mississippi was a delightful treat. Grilled oysters (many flavors to choose from) were a new and yummy treat. BIG REDS are fat juicy shrimp served in the fashion of lobster with butter dipping sauce. After you try the first one your taste buds will dance with delight. Many more items on the menu....I have to go back and try something new.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Orleans in Biloxi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This restaurant is part of a group, their are four. We decided to try this one while staying at the Beau Rivage casino. The food is very good. As others noted, try the royal reds. The oysters are delicious. They will give you the choice of dinning upstairs or main floor. Choose upstairs! By the window. Nice views and a real french quarter feel. The prices are reasonable. Wine selection is limited, but good prices by the glass or bottle.

Definitely the place to go if you wish to escape casino life for a few hours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.