We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit-just as good as before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 202 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3rd visit-just as good as before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In an optimal location and nice building, definitely has the feel of a nicer restaurant. Food is overall above average with the highlight being the oysters of course. I recommend the sampler.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    268
    71
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went for lunch. My husband had the broiled oysters which he had never tried. LOVED THEM. I ordered the crab cakes over asparagus . Wonderful ! The service was excellent. The restaurant was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful taste of the sea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dinner with friends at the Half Shell Oyster House in Biloxi, Mississippi was a delightful treat. Grilled oysters (many flavors to choose from) were a new and yummy treat. BIG REDS are fat juicy shrimp served in the fashion of lobster with butter dipping sauce. After you try the first one your taste buds will dance with delight. Many more items on the menu....I have to go back and try something new.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Orleans in Biloxi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This restaurant is part of a group, their are four. We decided to try this one while staying at the Beau Rivage casino. The food is very good. As others noted, try the royal reds. The oysters are delicious. They will give you the choice of dinning upstairs or main floor. Choose upstairs! By the window. Nice views and a real french quarter feel. The prices are reasonable. Wine selection is limited, but good prices by the glass or bottle.

Definitely the place to go if you wish to escape casino life for a few hours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Level Contributor
328 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Heaven at the Half Shell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Half Shell is becoming my go-to place for dinner when I'm in Biloxi. The food is delicious, and the prices are extremely reasonable (especially when compared with what the casinos/resorts charge for the exact same plate).

The restaurant doesn't take reservations from 6 p.m.-8 p.m. on weekends to leave space for walk-ins. We strolled in at around 6:30 p.m. and ordered a glass of wine and some charbroiled oysters at the bar. Before the oysters even came out, we'd been seated. I followed up our appetizer with a delicious paneed flounder, which was perfectly cooked and accompanied by two sides. We ate and talked and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, with no rushing from the waitstaff.

We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.