We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful taste of the sea!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 190 Restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Laurel, Mississippi, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful taste of the sea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dinner with friends at the Half Shell Oyster House in Biloxi, Mississippi was a delightful treat. Grilled oysters (many flavors to choose from) were a new and yummy treat. BIG REDS are fat juicy shrimp served in the fashion of lobster with butter dipping sauce. After you try the first one your taste buds will dance with delight. Many more items on the menu....I have to go back and try something new.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    216
    61
    21
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New Orleans in Biloxi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This restaurant is part of a group, their are four. We decided to try this one while staying at the Beau Rivage casino. The food is very good. As others noted, try the royal reds. The oysters are delicious. They will give you the choice of dinning upstairs or main floor. Choose upstairs! By the window. Nice views and a real french quarter feel. The prices are reasonable. Wine selection is limited, but good prices by the glass or bottle.

Definitely the place to go if you wish to escape casino life for a few hours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Heaven at the Half Shell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Half Shell is becoming my go-to place for dinner when I'm in Biloxi. The food is delicious, and the prices are extremely reasonable (especially when compared with what the casinos/resorts charge for the exact same plate).

The restaurant doesn't take reservations from 6 p.m.-8 p.m. on weekends to leave space for walk-ins. We strolled in at around 6:30 p.m. and ordered a glass of wine and some charbroiled oysters at the bar. Before the oysters even came out, we'd been seated. I followed up our appetizer with a delicious paneed flounder, which was perfectly cooked and accompanied by two sides. We ate and talked and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, with no rushing from the waitstaff.

We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant has 3 locations (Gulfport, Biloxi, and Hattisburg) We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived for lunch. We were seated immediately, and the server was right there ready to help us decide what to have. She offered several options and gave us her opinion as to her favorites and what was good.

We had the Royal Reds (big, sweet Cajun boiled gulf shrimp) fried shrimp platter (dredged in cornflour) and chargrilled asparagus with Gorgonzola Butter.

The meal was very good and tasty and was fresh. Server said that they get most of the seafood from the Quality Seafood Market a few blocks away.

This is a full service restaurant that serves lunch and dinner and closes in the late evening. The menu is mostly seafood with some meat and burgers for those who do not like seafood.

The cost of the food is moderate and to be expected for sit-down service.

Overall, a great alternative to the buffets and overpriced restaurants in the casinos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Call ahead and put your name in before you go....got seated a couple minutes after we got there...sat downstairs but upstairs might be nicer...food was excellent...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.