We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Oysters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 210 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great service. Good atmosphere. Walking distance from the Beau. Would recommend reservations. Enjoyed the sampler oyster platter. Somewhat pricey!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Trenton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd verse same as the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

1st time was March of last year (2012) on our annual golf trip and i wrote didn't like oysters untill i had them here so we had to go back and have them again. The same 5 guys returned one year later to find the same great service and the worlds best oysters. They were so good that we ate 19 dozen and had 7 bottle's of wine (not sure, it might have been 8 or 9) but boo's counting after 2. Good thing our hotel took us and picked us up after.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betterdays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sublime seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Casual and friendly, the food here rocks. Lauren our server was a wonderful guide, steering us to Oysters Orleans. She was spot on with all her recommendations. We devoured them scraped the shells and sopped up every speck of sauce. Then we ordered more. The red shrimp and Voodoo shrimp were wonderful. I wish this restaurant was next door!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great food. Great atmosphere. Great service. While it can get very busy at times, we have never had to wait on a table. Everyone there is VERY accommodating. We didn't like the table we were seated at (right at the top of the stairs) and they immediately moved us to a table nearby. NO complaints whatsoever about the food or the service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MississippiCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food... there is a reason why they are #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate here last week while in Biloxi.. The oysters are so fresh and you can watch them roasting the oysters in the open area by the bar. The young men shucking and roasting oysters were very nice and pleasant to talk to while eating. Only complaint, our waitress got my beer wrong, but I never said anything and just drank it and she seemed to be gone from our table for long periods at a time...It was not super busy (4:30 pm) so not sure what that was about :/ ...Gumbo was the best we had all week and we ate out ever night. Crab Claws YUM!!! ....and to finish dinner with the Key lime pie... :) Overall a very good place to eat just off the main road.. Definitely worth checking out while in Biloxi.. You will not be disappointed..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing