We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh and outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The half shell has some of the freshest oysters around. Gotta try the fresh oysters. The oyster sampler is great as well, which features 4 different ways of preparing including char grilled, and rockerfeller.

The reds (shrimp) are tasty and done to perfection. Make this part of your dinner plans when in Biloxi.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    260
    71
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
500 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Loved the BBQ Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After a week of so-so food along he Gulf Coast finally some great food and great service. The BBQ shrimp were fantastic - buttery and spicy. The battered fries were very good esp. When dipped in the shrimp BBQ sauce. Even the side Caesar salad was good - fresh and crispy. Our server was very friendly and efficient. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A GREAT SEAFOOD PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I tried the Half Sheff twice on my most recent visit to Biloxi. First time, we had the Oyster sampler (while seated at the third story bar)--with our favorites being the Char Broiled oyester. This is an original New Orleans recipe, with the oysters flame charred on the grill, and are a must try for sure,
We went back for dinner and tried the entrees-- Royal Red shrimp for my wife, grilled portabella stuffed mushrooms for me. The reds are sweet, tender, succlent shrimp found deep in the water, and are the most tasty we have EVER had. Menu has a good selection of Gulf Coast seafood, with the focus on oysters and shrimp.
The portabella was filled with large shrimp, grilled to perfection, tasty and a great combination. Clam chowder was creamy, with good butter and clam overtones (sounds like a wine critic!)--another hit.
We did not have room for desert although the bread pudding sounded fantastic.
Locals are there until about 7 PM, but thins out after that. Weekend waits are a little long, but worth every minute.
A little pricy, but about average for a good place in Biloxi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eat here not the casinos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a very dissappointing meal at the Hard Rock Cafe I pulled out Tripadvisor and discovered some authentic seafood just a block away. Would recommend the fried green tomatoes and crab cakes; very light batter and delicious sauce. My husband is not a seafood lover but said he has a new 'favorite dish' after trying the seafood pasta (shrimp, crab, crawfish)! While I was looking for gulf seafood I was very pleased with the Royal Reds; shrimp from deepwater Atlantic. They were cajun boiled, served with drawn butter and were sweeter like lobster. Very reasonably priced restaurant with a local flavor. Try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Run don't walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Delicious food great service! If you visit Biloxi you shouldn't miss it. Oyster appetizer was excellent. Royal reds were delicious! Fried oysters were sweet and succulent. Our waitress Ashley was knowledgable and attentive. We'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.