We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 184 restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

While taking a break from the Beau Rivage, we stumbled upon this amazing restaurant. Sat at the bar where We shared oysters and ordered an entree. Had the opportunity to try the local brews. Great staff & great food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    388
    174
    55
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good eats and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We dined for lunch on Sunday and I got the yellowfin tuna which was really good with the aioli sauce. The portions were not huge but just enough to fill up and the waitress was nice and accomodating. All around good place to eat and would recommend it to friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a really nice restaurant, with great food. We really enjoyed the oysters as well the shrimp and grits. The service was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, jazz, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had brunch at The Half Shell Oyster House. It was terrific. Great Royal Red shrimp! And good jazz playing on the system. Wonderful!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best Raw Oysters Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have eaten here before but this time we ate at the actual oyster bar downstairs where the shuckers are busy at their craft preparing the oysters for the guests in a variety of methods from raw to grilled to florentine to whatever. We enjoyed visiting with the shuckers as they quickly opened and prepared dozens and dozens of oyster at a fanatical pace. Kudos to these guys for a hard job well done. The staff was very friendly and the place was packed with guests including many locals which is always a good sign. We will back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.