We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, jazz, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 195 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, jazz, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had brunch at The Half Shell Oyster House. It was terrific. Great Royal Red shrimp! And good jazz playing on the system. Wonderful!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankies3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Raw Oysters Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have eaten here before but this time we ate at the actual oyster bar downstairs where the shuckers are busy at their craft preparing the oysters for the guests in a variety of methods from raw to grilled to florentine to whatever. We enjoyed visiting with the shuckers as they quickly opened and prepared dozens and dozens of oyster at a fanatical pace. Kudos to these guys for a hard job well done. The staff was very friendly and the place was packed with guests including many locals which is always a good sign. We will back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi
1 review
“Oysters New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped at 3 on a Sunday! We are going back for more tonight with friends. We will be dreaming of Oysters New Orleans all summer in wisconsin. Kevel is great. One of my favorite qualities in a chef is generosity!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the oyster sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were only in Biloxi for 3 nights and we ate at the Half Shell twice. The Oysters Bienville were my favorite! The Bacon and Pecan Crusted Red Fish was delicious as were the Seafood Pasta and Shrimp and Grits. Bartenders Linda and Christi were awesome! This place is popular so be prepared for a wait. We were quoted an hour each night, but found seats at one of the two full-service bars instead both times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KHolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon during Super Bowl week. Had some excellent oysters on the half shell, some other dishes, washed down by some draught beers. Very pleasant and attentive service at the bar, pleasant informal surroundings in a former bank building. Very much recommended for some casual Gulf Coast seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CasterUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing