We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Raw Oysters Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Raw Oysters Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have eaten here before but this time we ate at the actual oyster bar downstairs where the shuckers are busy at their craft preparing the oysters for the guests in a variety of methods from raw to grilled to florentine to whatever. We enjoyed visiting with the shuckers as they quickly opened and prepared dozens and dozens of oyster at a fanatical pace. Kudos to these guys for a hard job well done. The staff was very friendly and the place was packed with guests including many locals which is always a good sign. We will back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    260
    71
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
1 review
“Oysters New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped at 3 on a Sunday! We are going back for more tonight with friends. We will be dreaming of Oysters New Orleans all summer in wisconsin. Kevel is great. One of my favorite qualities in a chef is generosity!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the oyster sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were only in Biloxi for 3 nights and we ate at the Half Shell twice. The Oysters Bienville were my favorite! The Bacon and Pecan Crusted Red Fish was delicious as were the Seafood Pasta and Shrimp and Grits. Bartenders Linda and Christi were awesome! This place is popular so be prepared for a wait. We were quoted an hour each night, but found seats at one of the two full-service bars instead both times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon during Super Bowl week. Had some excellent oysters on the half shell, some other dishes, washed down by some draught beers. Very pleasant and attentive service at the bar, pleasant informal surroundings in a former bank building. Very much recommended for some casual Gulf Coast seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice selection of food and adult beverages! The atmosphere is dark for dinner but is pretty noisy because it is very open. One of the many local seafood places that will not disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.