We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the oyster sampler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 191 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Southaven, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the oyster sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were only in Biloxi for 3 nights and we ate at the Half Shell twice. The Oysters Bienville were my favorite! The Bacon and Pecan Crusted Red Fish was delicious as were the Seafood Pasta and Shrimp and Grits. Bartenders Linda and Christi were awesome! This place is popular so be prepared for a wait. We were quoted an hour each night, but found seats at one of the two full-service bars instead both times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    231
    64
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon during Super Bowl week. Had some excellent oysters on the half shell, some other dishes, washed down by some draught beers. Very pleasant and attentive service at the bar, pleasant informal surroundings in a former bank building. Very much recommended for some casual Gulf Coast seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice selection of food and adult beverages! The atmosphere is dark for dinner but is pretty noisy because it is very open. One of the many local seafood places that will not disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Succulent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Delicious local favorites with a twist. Love the spicy shrimp poboy! Beautiful atmosphere and attentive staff

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a delightful experience! We visited this restaurant last week, where we had oysters on the half shell, gumbo, and a shrimp and oyster po boy. The oysters and gumbo were delicious, and the po boy was one of the best we have ever had. The service was outstanding, and the restaurant is very nicely done. We were very pleased, and we will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.