We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great local place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had dinner there this evening and the food was wonderful. We had their Oysters Bienville and fried Green Tomatoes with Crab Cakes for starters. Both were excellent. For dinner we had the Seafood Pasta and Seafood Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms. They too were excellent. It is nice to have a good restaurant with fresh local seafood and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    260
    71
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere and not in a casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Met some locals here for lunch. I ordered the oyster sampler, the gumbo, and the smoked salmon appetizer. The food was tasty. Our kids ninja'd all the bread off the salmon appetizer when we weren't looking. We enjoyed both the location and atmosphere but i bet its a little dim inside at night. I am scheming for another meal here on our next trip to the coast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fine atmosphere/delicious meals/reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The restaurant is located in former bank in downtown Biloxi. Locals love this place. We arrived early on mid week evening & it was already packed. Excellent selection of fish & sides. I recommend shrimp with grits! Wine is superb & reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Too much fixins fixin the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate at the bar and enjoyed the excellent service and attention. The oysters were huge, a little too huge for my liking, but they were tasty. Kevil, our shucker, treated us to a sampling of his grilled oysters. Loaded up with butter, garlic , salt and unknown cajun seasonings. They went down well and stayed there 'til morning. It was one nasty gastric distress episode. The same can be said for our other selections, "Shrimp & Grits", "Seafood stuffed Portabello". Here it is more about the coverings (sauces) and additives than it is about the fish. My attitude is, if you enjoy good quality seafood why the need to disguise it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and atmosphere are both great. Try the Voodoo shrimp-outstanding! They also have great poboys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.