We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 198 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Barbecue, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great local place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had dinner there this evening and the food was wonderful. We had their Oysters Bienville and fried Green Tomatoes with Crab Cakes for starters. Both were excellent. For dinner we had the Seafood Pasta and Seafood Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms. They too were excellent. It is nice to have a good restaurant with fresh local seafood and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    247
    66
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere and not in a casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Met some locals here for lunch. I ordered the oyster sampler, the gumbo, and the smoked salmon appetizer. The food was tasty. Our kids ninja'd all the bread off the salmon appetizer when we weren't looking. We enjoyed both the location and atmosphere but i bet its a little dim inside at night. I am scheming for another meal here on our next trip to the coast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fine atmosphere/delicious meals/reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The restaurant is located in former bank in downtown Biloxi. Locals love this place. We arrived early on mid week evening & it was already packed. Excellent selection of fish & sides. I recommend shrimp with grits! Wine is superb & reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too much fixins fixin the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate at the bar and enjoyed the excellent service and attention. The oysters were huge, a little too huge for my liking, but they were tasty. Kevil, our shucker, treated us to a sampling of his grilled oysters. Loaded up with butter, garlic , salt and unknown cajun seasonings. They went down well and stayed there 'til morning. It was one nasty gastric distress episode. The same can be said for our other selections, "Shrimp & Grits", "Seafood stuffed Portabello". Here it is more about the coverings (sauces) and additives than it is about the fish. My attitude is, if you enjoy good quality seafood why the need to disguise it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and atmosphere are both great. Try the Voodoo shrimp-outstanding! They also have great poboys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.