We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and atmosphere and not in a casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 191 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere and not in a casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Met some locals here for lunch. I ordered the oyster sampler, the gumbo, and the smoked salmon appetizer. The food was tasty. Our kids ninja'd all the bread off the salmon appetizer when we weren't looking. We enjoyed both the location and atmosphere but i bet its a little dim inside at night. I am scheming for another meal here on our next trip to the coast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    231
    64
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fine atmosphere/delicious meals/reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The restaurant is located in former bank in downtown Biloxi. Locals love this place. We arrived early on mid week evening & it was already packed. Excellent selection of fish & sides. I recommend shrimp with grits! Wine is superb & reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too much fixins fixin the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate at the bar and enjoyed the excellent service and attention. The oysters were huge, a little too huge for my liking, but they were tasty. Kevil, our shucker, treated us to a sampling of his grilled oysters. Loaded up with butter, garlic , salt and unknown cajun seasonings. They went down well and stayed there 'til morning. It was one nasty gastric distress episode. The same can be said for our other selections, "Shrimp & Grits", "Seafood stuffed Portabello". Here it is more about the coverings (sauces) and additives than it is about the fish. My attitude is, if you enjoy good quality seafood why the need to disguise it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and atmosphere are both great. Try the Voodoo shrimp-outstanding! They also have great poboys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Half Shell Oyster satisfied all six diners seeking great tasting seafood with oysters during a recent dinner. If you are seeking tasty oysters you must order the charbroiled oysters, go for the dozen you will not be disappointed. Simply prepared with fresh garlic and a light drizzle of white wine then magically charbroiled these huge, fresh, tasty oysters are worth a visit to Half Shell. If you do not like oysters, then order the tuna. My tuna was perfectly cooked to rare and the steak was so large I took about half of it home. I also ordered a side of the asparagus with cheese, it was good, just a little too much fat in the dish for me. We dined upstairs, the restaurant has character and personality. If you are over 50 you might need to use the flash light app on your phone to read the menu. I am looking forward to a return visit to Half Shell.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.