We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 179 restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
46 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    323
    148
    47
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Half Shell Oyster House
See the most recent reviews
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and atmosphere are both great. Try the Voodoo shrimp-outstanding! They also have great poboys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Half Shell Oyster satisfied all six diners seeking great tasting seafood with oysters during a recent dinner. If you are seeking tasty oysters you must order the charbroiled oysters, go for the dozen you will not be disappointed. Simply prepared with fresh garlic and a light drizzle of white wine then magically charbroiled these huge, fresh, tasty oysters are worth a visit to Half Shell. If you do not like oysters, then order the tuna. My tuna was perfectly cooked to rare and the steak was so large I took about half of it home. I also ordered a side of the asparagus with cheese, it was good, just a little too much fat in the dish for me. We dined upstairs, the restaurant has character and personality. If you are over 50 you might need to use the flash light app on your phone to read the menu. I am looking forward to a return visit to Half Shell.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale fl
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for lunch. Started with the appetizer of oysters. Best I ever had and so flavorful. We oredered the fried oysters, royal red shrimp, and shrimp n grits. Everything was great! The manager was extremely friendly and made sure the service was greatl We had the Bananas Foster Cheesecake for dessert and it was awesome! I would go back for sure. They have great quality food and the staff is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, Local, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch - had half a dozen oysters on the half shell followed by royal red shrimp and fried boiled potatoes. Both were very fresh and delicious! Sat at the bar and had great service while watching the chefs cook. Will be back next time I am in Biloxi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Took my family here and we had a very good meal. The Char-broiled oysters, fresh oysters and deep water shrimp were excellent. The quality of the food was great, service was prompt and I thought good value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.