We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 199 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Barbecue, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
ft lauderdale fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for lunch. Started with the appetizer of oysters. Best I ever had and so flavorful. We oredered the fried oysters, royal red shrimp, and shrimp n grits. Everything was great! The manager was extremely friendly and made sure the service was greatl We had the Bananas Foster Cheesecake for dessert and it was awesome! I would go back for sure. They have great quality food and the staff is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    247
    66
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, Local, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch - had half a dozen oysters on the half shell followed by royal red shrimp and fried boiled potatoes. Both were very fresh and delicious! Sat at the bar and had great service while watching the chefs cook. Will be back next time I am in Biloxi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Took my family here and we had a very good meal. The Char-broiled oysters, fresh oysters and deep water shrimp were excellent. The quality of the food was great, service was prompt and I thought good value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and waitress tries really hard to please but so much wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Came last summer and loved it enough to return while in area
The raw oysters are fresh and huge but the rest of the meal was average at best
Hubby had a very non traditional oysters rockerfeller . Little spinach or cheese
His gumbo was good
His crab cake had little crab, mostly bread
Food came out one plate at a time bc she "couldnt carry more than one thing" so we ate pretty much separately too
The bread was stale
The crab claws were teeny
Not worth going back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped in for lunch traveling back home from New Orleans. The food was amazing! We shared the oyster sampler. Loved it! It came with a dozen half shell oysters prepared 4 different way. Our favorite was beinville. Then we split the Voodoo shrimp po-boy. It too was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.