We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Oysters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse Street, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 191 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yummy Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were only in Biloxi for 2 nights, but ate here twice. If we had a 3rd night in Biloxi, we would have selected the Half Shell Oyster House for another meal.

The fish selection was delicious. However, the oysters couldn't be beat anywhere. We had fried, chargrilled, and the platter of each of their 4 oyster selections. WOW!

Great wait staff..so courteous and efficient.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    231
    64
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went here on a reccomendation from the Beau Rivage on a Monday night. All three of us ordered the fresh grilled Mahi Mahi. One of us got a Ceaser salad with the fried potatoes, one got the half shell salad for $2 extra and the potatoes and the other got the seafood gumbo and house salad.

No bread served and we had to ask for bread which came stale. The caeser salad was fair as was the half shell salad. House sald was adequate. Seafood gumbo was rated as good. The fish was a small portion. My brothers fish was one ince by 8 inches and they gave him more. The fish was only fair snd tasted like it was frozen fresh. The potatoes were way to greasy and we got fries which were better. Entrees were $20 each. We rated this a 3 stars based on expectations and we were being generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat1980
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Half shell has some really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What can I say. Half shell is one of my favorite places to eat. Make sure you tell the wait staff not to serve a dish before you are finish the other dish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were driving from TX to SC, wanted seafood. Finally tripped over this place in Gulfport, MS. No standard issue fried shrimp, but husband had a filet mignon with a smoked gouda cream and a few shrimp... $26. Stunningly good. I had an amazing seafood pot pie - crawfish, crab and shrimp in a pot pie. Also stunningly good. $14 or so. Skip the grilled asparagus and the Bloody Mary - they're not up to their other stuff. We don't do oysters, so no clue whether they are good or not. Our service was excellent, but we were there pretty early - about 5pm. Got all this, plus drinks, for about $60 - just a hair over what we paid at Applebee's the night before and so worth it! Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Half shell is half what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My dinner was fair. I had the oyster sampler plate. If I eat cooked oysters, I do expect them to be hot. These tasted ok, but were lukewarm at best. I probably should have gotten raw. My friend had the red shrimp, and the were a little over cooked. The building was beautiful and the service was good. I might try this restaurant again for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.