We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gulfport needs to mentor Biloxi sister” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
125 Lameuse St, Biloxi, MS 39530
228.432.5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 187 Restaurants in Biloxi
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
mississippi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Gulfport needs to mentor Biloxi sister”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

WOW ! This restaurant in Biloxi needs some serious mentoring . The food just isnt the same . The oysters not near as good and the royal reds ...over cooked !!!
Whats good the service. We ate at the upstairs bar . Excellent , friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    420
    181
    57
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love Half Shell!!! My absolute favorite menu item is the Half Shell Salad! The salad dressing is amazing! Great with seafood as a topper as well. All the oysters are fabulous (grilled ones aren't as good as Drago's in NOLA, but that's a 2 hours drive)...expect long waits. You can call early to get on list and they will also call your cell phone when it's time to be seated allowing you to walk over to the casinos during your wait. Always a great meal...can be a bit spicy for the Mild eaters, but even the spicy isn't too spicy, and very yummy! The oyster sampler is a must!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Awesome oysters! We sat at the bar and had one of the coldest beers we have ever had a restaurant which is something I definately appreciate! Watched the guys shuck oysters and grill them up while catching some football on TV. They handed us a oyster on the house to get us started. The oysters were great, so good that we went back again the next day! Nice atmosphere, 2 story building with dining and small bars on both levels. We knew it was going to be good when we saw how many cars were there on a monday. Very friendly, highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Classy oyster house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is upscale without being pretentious. The oysters are great. My favorite was the charbroiled oysters. The seafood stuffed portobello was also very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For a Coast Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Better than the average Coast Restaurant. Liked the atmosphere. Food was good. Not great, but good. Waitresses were nice, and the overall experience was nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.