We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
110 Rue Magnolia, Biloxi, MS
228-374-0163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 200 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wednesday evening and good thing we made a reservation as the restaurant was packed at 6pm with a mix of locals, corporate types and vacationers. Third time here. Food and service always top-notch. Tip: Choose a dish of the 'featured dishes' section. It'll be a tough choice but you can't go wrong with any selection.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    135
    55
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very charming restaurant in a beautiful historic home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Mary Mahony's restaraunt for our weekend getaway. We entered the vintage home where diners can eat in one of the beautifully decorated rooms. The owner welcomed us in and found a table in the former sun room.

Our server, Will, immediately took our drink order and sped back in a wink. After taking our order he returned with two salads with home made dressings. A had a delightful cup of gumbo that had plenty of seafood but not too spicy.

For our main course, I had the "seafood sisters" which was baked shrimp au gratin and baked crab au gratin in separate shell dishes. It was very rich and truly delicious. My wife had the grouper sautéed with lump crab meat. Both came with a side of asparagus.

Overall, the experience was excellent- friendly service and scrumptious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Biloxi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Considering this area relies on casinos to attract revenue and has never fully recovered from H-Katrina, this restaurant was a very nice change to visit and taste some of the best Southern Cooking that fulfilled our Seafood cravings. We enjoyed the great broiled crab claws for appetizer and then our party indulged in Lobster tails, baked Flounder and the signature Shrimp and Lump Crabmeat Melba dish. The Pecan Pie A La Mode put us over the edge. Seeing some of the photos and articles on its wall, it's amazing how they managed to reopen just 62 days after the great storm. That's a desire to maintain its family tradition to serving good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always delicious and excellent service....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our 3rd time back at Mary Mahoney's in the same number of years. We wish we lived closer! Last night we just shared and enjoyed a large plate of broiled crab claws and a nice bottle of white wine. We topped that great combo off with a piece of delicious Key Lime pie. While not sounding like much, it was - although all the other dishes we saw coming out of the kitchen were mounded with food. Randall, our waiter, did an outstanding job of checking back with us and keeping our wine glasses near full. Great place, superb food and equally superb service - stop by and check MM's out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desert the desserts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night we went to mary mahoney's for dessert only.

Charming restaurant and great service. Three of the four of us had dessert

The two who ordered the bread pudding were very disappointed with their dessert. Their signature dessert was lacking flavor and was very disappointing.

According to the third, her cheesecake tasted old, was gritty, dry and tasted old. It was also the smallest piece of cheesecake she had ever been served. That was good as she ate very little of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mahoney's Old French House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.