We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting and really good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
110 Rue Magnolia, Biloxi, MS
228-374-0163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 194 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great setting and really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This old house is an institution in itself and offers a great menu served by excellent staff. They have added window seating around the exterior so there's more room but definitely book in advance. I had snapper (two filets) that came with a thin pasta covered with crawfish etouffe and it was really good. Prices are okay for the beach so don't be worried.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    123
    51
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, romantic dining event...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can feel the history in the building which seems more like a house than a restaurant, small rooms with dark wood accents, fireplaces, and furniture - tables set with white table cloths, crystal chandeliers and views of the outdoors made for a romantic atmosphere. Our waitress offered just the right amount of attention and privacy, tending to our every need. We enjoyed the small order of soft shell crabs as an appetizer (both of us commented on how good the cocktail sauce was) and the cup of gumbo which was said to be the 'best he'd ever eaten'. One of us had the fried oysters (came with baked potato and broccoli) and the other had the special "St. Patrick" - shrimp topped with crabmeat - served in an escargot dish, dark garlic butter and rich and delicious. It was felt that the batter overwhelmed the oysters (would have preferred something lighter) but were also very good. The atmosphere, food and service made for a very special evening...our first time at Mary Mahoney's but we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience, delicious seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In 2005 Hurricane Katrina's storm surge wiped out many buildings in Biloxi, but though it swept through the 200+-year-old French House (they have signs marking the water level for Katrina and Camille), the damage was repaired and Mary Mahoney's was back in business in short order. Lucky for us and all of its enthusiastic patrons!

We had lunch two days in a row during a brief visit to the area, and I'll definitely be back when I can. The building is charming and full of rich history, so be sure to take a tour to enjoy the art and read about its past.

Beautiful furniture and table settings, and several unique small rooms, each delightful. Service was flawless both times. Very fresh house salad; the homemade thousand island is rich and flavorful; the house dressing has tomatoes and ripe olives, also delicious. We had fried softshell crab (three small ones, served with the house remoulade and cocktail sauces), gumbo (too much file or some spice for one member of our party, others loved it), crab cakes (delicious), crab and shrimp au gratin (rich and delicious), crabmeat appetizer (lots of fresh crabmeat, wonderful, with a perfect sauce). The bread pudding is a small serving, perfect size, with rum sauce. Coffee is perfect, served in their signature glass cups (which you can purchase in the gift shop).

Overall, an absolutely delightful dining experience that I will repeat when back in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Historic Experience with great steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my second trip to Mary M's and it was a lovely as the first. It was fun to sit in the garden and enjoy a drink with friends under the majestic oaks and lush plants. You truly get the old Mississippi southern layed back experience there. Our steaks were huge and perfectly cooked. The appetizeters of fried shrimp and crab claws were well made but nothing compared to the gumbo, which let me tell you, was the REAL DEAL! Go there to relax and have a wonderful meal and soak up some of Mississippi's finest hospitality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Another trip for lunch this time. Broiled or fried crab claws as appetizer. Stuffed Flounder with crabmeat. A healthy scoop! Broiled Salmon with pasta and sauce. Bread pudding for desert liquor optional. Sherbert as well. Got there before the lunch rush.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mahoney's Old French House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.