We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
110 Rue Magnolia, Biloxi, MS
228-374-0163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 184 restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maitland, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We traveled as a couple and had read reviews of Mary Mahoney's restaurant. We had dinner and were quite satisfied with the servings. They were quite large and since we were traveling we could not bag it. But the food was very good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    208
    93
    41
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A place apart! Worth the whole trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a disappointing trip thru New Orleans restaurants, this one made up for the rest. It was recommended by a friend who lives in the area and he knew what he was talking about. You enter a different world and have your choice of several different rooms ( each of which could be a separate restaurant) We dined in the back room which looks like a sunporch...very light and cheerful (we were there for lunch).. The service, by a waiter who had been there about 20 years, was wonderful...gracious and inviting. My husband had seafood salad which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had something called an Irish seafood something or other...(can't remember the name) but it was spectacular. Based on escargot, it was shrimp in garlic and butter over spinach with a cheese sauce... very different but yummy. No need for heavy spices to cover the fresh seafood and vegetables. - For desert a great bread pudding... Could have stayed all afternoon if we werent driving long distances It was comfortable and old south dining at its best. We would be here often if we lived there... Definitely worth a trip...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howelldw
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just a short walk from the Beau. Wonderful food and environment. They are open for lunch and supper. Much better than the casino's food. Call ahead for seating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We traveled to Biloxi for our 32nd anniversary which is also on Valentine's Day. My husband had been stationed there years before I met him and he wanted to show me some of his past. He selected Mary Mahoney's just by luck. It was incredible. The food was sensational. We both chose fish items and enjoyed every morsel. The service was almost the best service we have ever received in any restaurant. Frederick was our waiter. He was efficient, attentive, personable and a pleasure for us. Frederick and my husband were in the military at the same time - my husband in the USAF and Frederick in the Czech army during the Cuban Missile Crisis in 1962. It was the first time my husband had ever shared his experiences with a military person "on the other side." This only helped to make this evening a more memorable experience. The restaurant alone was most satisfying. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any one who desires a sensational meal. Don't let the Irish sounding name with the French twist intimidate you. The food is primarily American and the specialty is fish. The only slight problem we encountered was immediately upon arrival. There seemed to be some confusion by the staff on who would sit where. There seemed to be a little temper shown on the part of the staff but it was settled and we went on and forgot about this. Just wish we had not been party to this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're in Biloxi and especially if you're staying at The Beau Rivage or Hard Rock, then walk yourself over to Mary Mahoney's. It's a Biloxi landmark and serves fresh seafood and American cruisine. They have wonderful seafood dishes that combine several seafoods and cream sauces. Delicious. We have even had Thanksgiving Dinner there and the turkey was just right. Make reservations. The restaurant has several rooms in which to dine. If you are group, let them know and you can have a room to yourself. There is dining outside and my favorite is the sunroom...especially in the summer when it's still light. This is just a great place. Treat yourself next time you're in Biloxi.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mahoney's Old French House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.