We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average for the Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
110 Rue Magnolia, Biloxi, MS
228-374-0163
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 185 restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northbrook,
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Above Average for the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Apparently this is something of a local institution. It is slightly less elegant than the website would have you believe, but still nice. It's an easy walk from the Beau Rivage Casino or the Hard Rock Casino. Average to above-average food and a quaint atmosphere. The wine list was pretty good, also.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    211
    94
    41
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere, special outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The food is great, the price is a little high, but worth it for a special occasion. The service was great. If you like fancy seafood you will love this place.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was a wonderful evening spent at Mary Mahoney's Old French House! Our seafood dinner was excellent, and I hated to see the evening come to an end. We started out with fine wine,followed with the signature gumbo, then an excellent house salad. Both my husband and I had the soft shell crab which was as good as I've ever had, and their signature bread pudding was an excellent choice. Mary Mahoney's son and owner, Bob, found time to show us around and gave us a CD of the "before and after Katrina", The staff was personable, friendly and very attentive. I can't imagine anyone writing an unfavorable review. This was my third experience, and I enjoyed it more this time than prior visits. Knowing the results of what Katrina left behind and the rebuilding and renovating made it more enjoyable. And the 2000-year-old live oak tree is still standing! I think Mary Mahoney would be proud to see how her son is managing her restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

loved the gumbo. yummy bread pudding. attentive staff without being intrusive. priced appropriately but limited affordable wines. fun yet tasteful atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Catering to tourists.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This use to be a great place to eat. However they now cater to bus loads of Casino players and the quality of the food has gone down significantly. As has the service. Mary Mahoney would be sad to see this place and the food served there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mahoney's Old French House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.