We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Biloxi Hotel (December 2010)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1735 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Biloxi
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“South Beach Biloxi Hotel (December 2010)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel and the room were tremendous, really tremendous.
I have never stayed at a hotel as good as this, and quite honestly don't expect to be able to again.
I believe this was a one-off for me - the hotel was brand new (open less than 2 months) when I stayed there, and I expect the rates to increase beyond my budget in the near future.
I found the hotel using the website http://www.golfcoast.com/golf-for-the-gulf/ . I did not realize but by accepting the default selections (and entering my details) I had selected not just the first hotel on the list but the first "Condominium" on the list, which was this hotel, the South Beach Biloxi Hotel. I was contacted by someone from the hotel a few days later, and after using google maps and street view to check out the hotel I accepted the offer to stay.
This is the only hotel (as of December 2010) right on the beach in Biloxi, bar the casino hotel, which does not have the connection to the beach and the surroundings that this hotel does (IMHO). In particular, the South Beach Biloxi Hotel has balconies for every room, and it is right on the beach, so other than a very few rooms that face the road (which I believe are much cheaper), I think you are on the beach in every room. You can use Google maps and street view to verify this impression. If you don't get absolute beachfront I think the east side of the hotel might be better for the beach view, although of course the sunsets are on the west side.
I think the design of the hotel is very clever - the first two levels are parking. They are betting that the next big storm to come ashore will not have the 30 foot surge of Katrina, but if it does, it will only take out the bottom floor of rooms, which are on the 3rd level (strictly speaking the hotel is above sea level by several feet so maybe even the first level of rooms would be ok). I didn't ask but I'm pretty sure they have made the hotel very strong, since they obviously thought about future storm surge in the design. And this is not a hotel that smacks of being cheap.

My rate was $139/night (in December 2010). This rate included golf each day, so I do not know what the rate would be less golf. I strongly suspect this was an introductory rate since the hotel was new and it was right at the winter solstice (this was the week containing the night of the total lunar eclipse on the solstice, not to be repeated for 475 years).

My room was 700 square feet. Properly speaking I would say it was not a room, it was an apartment. There was an entrance hall, past a powder room, a washer/dryer, an electric cupboard and a closet and a good sized entrance table. So, 20 feet later I walked into the main room, which contained a full kitchen (stove, cabinets, dishwasher, full fridge/freezer, large kitchen sink, full complement of knives, utensils and a chopping board), and a couch and separate chair in front of a big TV. Outside the floor to ceiling windows and sliding door was an approximately 8x4 balcony (I don't know the size exactly because I forgot to measure it) with two patio chairs and a small table. Behind the walk-in way was the bedroom with a California King bed, and a large en-suite, with a 5+ foot shower/bath.
There is high-speed WIFI for internet access plus an ethernet cable port. There is a good selection of TV channels - I don't like waiting to see what's on by using the channel guide channel - but using my laptop I found a website with a local channel guide that was much faster and more complete to consult for seeing what was on the TV.
I really think the place was luxurious. Perhaps my small town upbringing was overwhelmed by it all, but that's what I think.
I did not go to any of the nearby restaurants, because I bought several nights worth of catfish at the local store and cooked those for my dinners while I was there, but there was a seafood restaurant 100 yards away on the beach and there were other restaurants nearby (walking distance) too. This despite this area being completely removed from any very nearby (walking distance) locality, unless you count the Keesler air force base (about a mile away). Occasionally the aircraft from the base land and take off on a flight path nearly right over the hotel - the noise from these flights is minimal, and if you are on the balcony on the right side of the building you can feel like you are at an airshow, at least momentarily.
Cons: There is very little public transit on the Gulf Coast of MS. It is essentially totally car-centric. This is not the fault of the hotel, it is just my observation of the area. I don't like it; I think the world needs to move towards a more community oriented and less car oriented setup. For example, the main street from the beach at Gulfport going north is US49 and it's 3 lanes each way, often with service roads either side. For a town of less than one hundred thousand people, that seems too much to me. I don't see people exploring the coast using public transport. You could walk around small parts of it, but that's all.
The only other thing worth mentioning for people who are not familiar with the Mississippi Gulf Coast is that there are no waves from the sea - the beach is protected from the open sea by barrier islands, so although there is a small (about 3 foot) tide; all that happens is the low-tide part of the beach is covered and then exposed every 12 hours. The sandy beach is always available; I believe it may be a slightly artificial situation but in any case it's always there.
I think there are less golf courses than in Florida or Myrtle Beach, but I enjoyed them. Check out the Grand Bear golf course (and make sure you know how to get to it before the day); it has a 6 mile driveway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBiloxiGM, General Manager at South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
WOW! Thanks for such an extensive review! it is very appreciated. We thank you very much for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    119
    36
    30
    24
See reviews for
137
153
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Spouse and I stayed overnight for a birthday celebration. The only con about the place is the view across Beach Boulevard. The area is still recovering post Katrina. We stayed in a king studio. The bed was INCREDIBLY INVITING AND COMFORTABLE. The staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Nice little spread in the breakfast room listed as "continental breakfast" .... more than your typical cereal and bagel offerings!!!! Like us, most locals come to the coast just for the casinos as unfortunately the water isn't much to look at until you get to GulfShores, AL (Ours is the nasty side of the Gulf). So, for casino hoppers, this is the best of both worlds! A comfortable, nice, quiet stay close to the "real" casinos (Beau Rivage and Hard Rock) without having to pay weekend "real casino" hotel prices!!!!

PARTING WORDS: (1) Check in is on the 3rd floor - not sure if signage is adequately clear upon arrival; and (2) If you are not familiar with the region, please note that the "sulfur" smell to the tap water is NOT harmful. This is just the way it is, always has been, and has NOTHING to do with the oil spill which occurred in the Gulf last year. You will tend to notice it more coming from the hot water side. Therefore, if you only brush your teeth with "warm/hot" water, and believe you will not be able handle the rotten egg smell, you should definitely bring a gallon of bottled water for this purpose. Again, this is a regional thing and is NOT HARMFUL!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBiloxiGM, General Manager at South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Thank you for the great review! Yes signage is being installed to assist everyone with getting to the Front Desk! We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010 via mobile

This is by far the nicest, cleanest, most modern place on the coast. While Hard Rock and Beau Rivage may have more ammenities, nothing compares to this place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and is was ultra modern and brand spankin' new. The ratea were a steal. The staff was super. We are picky and this place blew us away!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBiloxiGM, General Manager at South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
We are so glad that we blew you away with our GREAT TEAM! Thank you for staying with us...come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites

Address: 1735 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Biloxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Biloxi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Biloxi
#6 Business Hotel in Biloxi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Biloxi, Mississippi's only beachfront hotel located directly on the sandy shores of the Gulf Coast. Close to Casino Row and popular Biloxi attractions, South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites is a one of a kind ultra luxury all-suite hotel. Expect the best in guest suite amenities, the best in scenic views, and personalized service beyond your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Biloxi Hotel And Suites
South Beach Biloxi Hotel Biloxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.