We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good oyster poboy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Safood Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bruno's Safood Cafe
895 Divison St., Biloxi, MS 39530
(228) 432-2146
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 185 restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good oyster poboy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Gumbo just okay, but oyster and shrimp poboys are done fresh. You can taste it. They have BBQ too, but didn't try it. Not a fancy place, but good lunch spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    1
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stopped in for a quick snack -- fresh seafood abound! One side is market, the other side is restaurant -- we bought some shrimp on the market side -- boiled in Zatarain's, yum!! And we got fried seafood platter on the restaurant side, to-go. The girl was super-nice and gave us three extra banana puddings for the kids. Everything was super-delicious! Prices were great -- especially for the fresh seafood. The guy who packed our shrimp was a bit rude. But the folks on the restaurant side made up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good local lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a great local place -- absolutely no pretension at all and not that much seating. Very busy at lunch -- it's obviously a place a lot of locals eat at. Just the sort of place I like to stumble on. The food was good, solid, flavorful cooking. (Get the daily special!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Bruno's is a lunch only, 11:00-2:00 Monday-Friday, cafe. The cafe is attached to a seafood market in the Quality Poultry and Seafood huge warehouse type building. Four of us tried oyster po'boy, smoked chicken, gumbo and some other stuff I can't remember. Sides of mac and cheese and beans.It's the type of place you might see on Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins. Place your order at the counter, find a table, and they call out your name when your order is ready. My order of chicken plate included 1/2 chicken, 2 sides and 2 corn fritters, for $8.00. The chicken was, hands down, the best chicken I've ever had in a restaurant. Very flavorful, moist and tender. Hubby ate the leg and the wing and agreed. Sis and I decided the corn fritters were the best ever. Po'boy was declared very good. Divided opinion on gumbo. Hubby liked it very much, bro-in-law doesn't like okra, and it has a lot of okra in it. Sides were not hot. They were both good, just the mac and cheese was in dire need of salt and pepper. It is a pretty limited menu, but my understanding is you can purchase seafood in the market next door and ask the cafe to cook it. Interesting option. The cafe has a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Won't go running back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

It's not terrible, but certainly not great. Tiny, crowded place in a very smelly fish market. I had the half shrimp poboy and gumbo. The poboy had about eight shrimp on it and the gumbo is definitely slimy. But, like I said, it was crowded. So maybe it's just me.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bruno's Safood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Safood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.