We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good oyster poboy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Safood Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bruno's Safood Cafe
895 Divison St., Biloxi, MS 39530
(228) 432-2146
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 202 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good oyster poboy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Gumbo just okay, but oyster and shrimp poboys are done fresh. You can taste it. They have BBQ too, but didn't try it. Not a fancy place, but good lunch spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stopped in for a quick snack -- fresh seafood abound! One side is market, the other side is restaurant -- we bought some shrimp on the market side -- boiled in Zatarain's, yum!! And we got fried seafood platter on the restaurant side, to-go. The girl was super-nice and gave us three extra banana puddings for the kids. Everything was super-delicious! Prices were great -- especially for the fresh seafood. The guy who packed our shrimp was a bit rude. But the folks on the restaurant side made up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good local lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a great local place -- absolutely no pretension at all and not that much seating. Very busy at lunch -- it's obviously a place a lot of locals eat at. Just the sort of place I like to stumble on. The food was good, solid, flavorful cooking. (Get the daily special!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Bruno's is a lunch only, 11:00-2:00 Monday-Friday, cafe. The cafe is attached to a seafood market in the Quality Poultry and Seafood huge warehouse type building. Four of us tried oyster po'boy, smoked chicken, gumbo and some other stuff I can't remember. Sides of mac and cheese and beans.It's the type of place you might see on Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins. Place your order at the counter, find a table, and they call out your name when your order is ready. My order of chicken plate included 1/2 chicken, 2 sides and 2 corn fritters, for $8.00. The chicken was, hands down, the best chicken I've ever had in a restaurant. Very flavorful, moist and tender. Hubby ate the leg and the wing and agreed. Sis and I decided the corn fritters were the best ever. Po'boy was declared very good. Divided opinion on gumbo. Hubby liked it very much, bro-in-law doesn't like okra, and it has a lot of okra in it. Sides were not hot. They were both good, just the mac and cheese was in dire need of salt and pepper. It is a pretty limited menu, but my understanding is you can purchase seafood in the market next door and ask the cafe to cook it. Interesting option. The cafe has a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't go running back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

It's not terrible, but certainly not great. Tiny, crowded place in a very smelly fish market. I had the half shrimp poboy and gumbo. The poboy had about eight shrimp on it and the gumbo is definitely slimy. But, like I said, it was crowded. So maybe it's just me.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Safood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bruno's Safood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Safood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.