We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood Platter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Safood Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bruno's Safood Cafe
895 Divison St., Biloxi, MS 39530
(228) 432-2146
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 191 Restaurants in Biloxi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Sevierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stopped in for a quick snack -- fresh seafood abound! One side is market, the other side is restaurant -- we bought some shrimp on the market side -- boiled in Zatarain's, yum!! And we got fried seafood platter on the restaurant side, to-go. The girl was super-nice and gave us three extra banana puddings for the kids. Everything was super-delicious! Prices were great -- especially for the fresh seafood. The guy who packed our shrimp was a bit rude. But the folks on the restaurant side made up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good local lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a great local place -- absolutely no pretension at all and not that much seating. Very busy at lunch -- it's obviously a place a lot of locals eat at. Just the sort of place I like to stumble on. The food was good, solid, flavorful cooking. (Get the daily special!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Bruno's is a lunch only, 11:00-2:00 Monday-Friday, cafe. The cafe is attached to a seafood market in the Quality Poultry and Seafood huge warehouse type building. Four of us tried oyster po'boy, smoked chicken, gumbo and some other stuff I can't remember. Sides of mac and cheese and beans.It's the type of place you might see on Diners, Dives and Drive-Ins. Place your order at the counter, find a table, and they call out your name when your order is ready. My order of chicken plate included 1/2 chicken, 2 sides and 2 corn fritters, for $8.00. The chicken was, hands down, the best chicken I've ever had in a restaurant. Very flavorful, moist and tender. Hubby ate the leg and the wing and agreed. Sis and I decided the corn fritters were the best ever. Po'boy was declared very good. Divided opinion on gumbo. Hubby liked it very much, bro-in-law doesn't like okra, and it has a lot of okra in it. Sides were not hot. They were both good, just the mac and cheese was in dire need of salt and pepper. It is a pretty limited menu, but my understanding is you can purchase seafood in the market next door and ask the cafe to cook it. Interesting option. The cafe has a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Won't go running back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

It's not terrible, but certainly not great. Tiny, crowded place in a very smelly fish market. I had the half shrimp poboy and gumbo. The poboy had about eight shrimp on it and the gumbo is definitely slimy. But, like I said, it was crowded. So maybe it's just me.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY OVERPRICED, TERRIBLE SERVICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Visited Bruno's for lunch last week. First off, half po-boys are extremely small, more like a quarter. The bread was dry and hard. The gumbo was slimy from the okra not being cooked down properly. To make matters worse, the servers did not explain how the food would be plated and we ended up with extra food that we did not even realize we were ordering (or could eat). Along with that extra good comes the extra price. Half of our orders were incorrect and they do NOT accept debit/credit cards. Well, for $56.00, they should accept cards......Will NOT return. The only reason I did not give the rating a "terrible" rating is because the shrimp and the crab meat was tasty despite being very small portioned and way overpriced.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Safood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bruno's Safood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Safood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.