Selected this hotel based on gulf views with a balcony which it was. Ask for a room above the 9 floor or you will be looking at air conditioners. The rooms are a little dated as is the casino but they are clean and our room did not have a bathtub. But, the shower is very nice and large. There are dispensers of body lotion, hand soap, shampoo, conditioner and bath soap. Instead of the tiny bottles. This was very nice. The air conditioning worked wonderful. We had the buffet the last night of our stay and it was wonderful as we used our comps we had earned. I felt the slots payed off fine. Win some, lose some. All the staff were very nice. There were free drinks while you were gambling although the alcohol choices were limited and sometimes felt the drinks were watered down. But; who can complain when you're not paying. The view from our room was very nice, beach is beautiful but the water is not. I do have to agree with other reviews the smoke smell is terrible but our room was non-smoking and there was no smoke smell. We did choose this hotel because of the balcony. Not many hotels offer balconies any more and most of them are across the street from the beach however it is not that far or difficult to walk across the street. There are bathrooms on the beach but not very many. It is sad to see what hurricane Katrina has done to the area. We have been there several times but things are being rebuilt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
August 24, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thanks so much for your detailed review of your experience here at Treasure Bay. We are very proud of our rooms as well as our outstanding hospitality team. While we can't do much about the water (that's the Mississippi River Sound you're looking at ...) we are glad you were able to find something to enjoy in our lovely white sand beach located directly across the street with very easy access to our guests.
The cigarette smoke is an inherent issue with an attached casino and we have worked hard over the years to find a solution to this problem. I'm pleased to tell you that we've installed a new air quality system in the last couple weeks that has made a dramatic difference to the smell and overall air experience in our public and gaming areas. Hopefully you'll be back soon to judge this for yourself!
On behalf of our whole Treasure Bay family, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.