We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ON THE GULF COAST / IT'S NOT EVEN CLOSE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tien

Tien
850 Bayview Ave, IP Casino and Resort, Biloxi, MS 39530
+1 228-523-8688
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tien is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 195 Restaurants in Biloxi
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caillavett
Transit: Casino Hopper - Shuttle Bus available
Description: Designed with multicultural appeal in mind, the Triple-A Four Diamond-rated tien features a variety of Asian cuisines, including Vietnamese, Korean, Chinese and Japanese. We offer Teppanyaki, Shabu Shabu, Dim Sum or Sushi, all served with a unique interactive experience right at your table. Tien has multiple meanings in several Asian languages, including "first, wealth, convenient, progress, and heaven."
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“BEST ON THE GULF COAST / IT'S NOT EVEN CLOSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've lived in the Gulf Coast region for about a year now (Pensacola).
We enjoy Asian cuisine and more specifically Sushi rolls.
As recent transplants from San Diego, which has many great Asian / Sushi places, we were eager to find our "go to" place for Sushi rolls.
We had almost given up after trying many places near our home in the Florida panhandle.
We decided to give Tien a try before the Big and Rich concert taking place right there in the IP Casino. Tien is pretty much at the entrance to the concert hall so why not.

What an awesome surprise. The "Super Crunchy" roll was the best sushi roll I've ever had. Yes, EVER. If you compare it to even the best I've had on the gulf coast it's not even close. Tien's is 10x better.
We also had the Mongolian Beef. It was also very good.

Service was fantastic. They were there so fast anytime we needed something I think they may have been stalking us.... but seriously, it was great service.

Although we live 2 hours from Tien there is no doubt we'll be back often.

Bonus: They give active duty military a good discount!

Don't miss out on the best Asian cuisine on the Gulf Coast.

Side note: Call ahead or check the website for their business hours. They are not open every day.... and not open most Sundays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ericjbabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great sushi! Blah Mongolian Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been to Tien each time we have visited Biloxi. For the first time, we had a dish we didn't care for at all. But their sushi, especially the Triple Thai Roll, is great! Though we didn't care for the mongolian beef, we will definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We looked forward to having "kalbi", sushi, and bulgogi! We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding. We saw several noodle dishes on various tables and they too looked great. The staff was attentive and restaurant was very, very clean! Would return again just to try the noodle soup.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dhawkins910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Pretty good pan-Asian by Biloxi standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bearing in mind that most Asian fare in the Biloxi area is pretty mediocre at best, my wife and I enjoyed our first visit to Tien. For appetizers I had the Triple Tuna Roll sushi, which was delicious and very well-presented; my wife had the Shu Mai (dumplings) which were average, and skimpy on the portion size. For entrees, I chose the Shanghai clay pot meatballs over rice, and my wife chose the Pad Thai - we both enjoyed our entrees although we do agree with other previous reviewers that perhaps they were both a bit under-seasoned.

Presentation and service was solid, and we found the prices reasonable. Again bearing in mind the low bar set by Asian offerings throughout the Biloxi area (both in casinos as well as around town), we would visit again. However, if this were a bigger market I don't think Tien would stand up to the competition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casino flare, Casino fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's rare to find a restaurant in a casino that stands above the usual all-you-can-eat fare that focuses more on quality than quantity, and unfortunately Tien was not it for this first timer. It does look to have atmosphere and many choices of Asian Cuisine (Vietnam, Korean, Chinese, Japanese), which can be prepared ordering by table or at Hibachi settings with a Chef. We started with Won Ton and Miso Soup which had flavor missing, then the Shanghai Beef Pot and General Tso Chicken which were good portions, but again lacking flavor that you normally find in other smaller Asian restaurants. The staff were a little slow in showing us a table which was not crowded and waitress was probably covering all by herself. Overpriced meal for the quality we saw.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tien also viewed

 

Been to Tien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing