We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day trip...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A great day trip...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

We chose to go to ship island as part of our vacation on the coast. We had a great time! We bought tickets with ship island excursions and rode their ferry out to the island. The ride out was great. It took about 50 mins. We saw lots of seagulls and pelicans on the way to ship island and saw a couple of dolphins on the way back. The breeze was nice and the kids enjoyed watching for dolphins. There were stingrays near the pier when we docked. Be prepared to walk. I had my two boys (9 and 7) wear swim shoes and I wish I had too. It's quite a walk to the south side of the island and you have to carry everything you bring. You're allowed a small cooler. There are chairs and umbrellas to rent. Next time I would bring my own chairs and umbrellas so I could set up closer to the water. The sand where the chairs and umbrellas are is extremely hot which is where the swim shoes would have been nice to have. Flip flops were not enough. Closer to the water the sand isn't so bad. There is food at the snack bar such as burgers, nachos, chips, etc. I packed a cooler with beer and water and took along. Bring lots of sunscreen and reapply often. There is no shade except the shade of the umbrellas. It wouldn't take long to get a sunburn out there. I definitely recommend going at least once.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    19
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely beaches, otherwise boring.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

The water on the gulf side of the island is beautiful. All I can say is it is a slowwwwwww boat ride out there if you take the excursion ship. Once you get there, there's nothing to do except swim or sunbathe. Given the schedule of the excursion ship, better figure on something to occupy your time for hours and hours.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Day on the beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

We enjoyed our trip to Ship Island immensely. The 11 mile boat ride was relaxing and the views were awesome. I was the first person to spot the dolphins that love to play in the boats wake! The historic island was beautiful and the beach was great!

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Springs, Kentucky
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We took the boat ride to ship Island and loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Once there we had to walk about 3/4 mile to the other side where the beach was, easy walk but you wouldn't want to have to carry a lot there. They rent chairs and Umbrella for only $25. for two chairs, great price for all day. They have a place to get food and drinks at reasonable prices, and the food was good. It was a very relaxing place. The fort is interesting and has lots of history.

Visited June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
1 review
“We did see some dolphins swimming and jumping out of the ocean on the way to the Island.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

It was a nice relaxing hour boat ride to the island, but the beach was not any better than the beaches in the cities. We did rent an umbrella and 2 chairs for $25, but will not the next time as there is shade with picnic tables if you want to get out of the sun. The prices at the concession stand are really good and Ft. Massachusetts was very interesting.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.