We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#teamthompson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
Attraction details
Tomball, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“#teamthompson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We grew up in Biloxi. Any trip we took to Ship Island was with the excursion trips or Marine Biology out of Biloxi High. My brother is now a Captain for Deep Sea Fishing trips and we took our family (a group of 25, age range from 6 to 68) to Ship Island. The island is much cleaner than I remember. The beaches are beautiful, clear and well kept. The historic information is informative and well displayed. We all enjoyed walking through the fort. All historic information was well displayed and clearly stated facts were easy for the kids to understand. We didn't make it to the other side of the island, where we as teenagers would swim, but our experience was memorable and we hope to be back this summer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This was a wonderful trip.The only downer was that we could not tour the fort because it was flooded form the heavy rains the night before. The Island was very beautiful and we found many great shells.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ship Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Well worth the trip. But the fort was the only thing worthwhile. The snack bar has bowling alley type food, reasonably priced. But if you want to sit on a beach chair, that is where they make $$$$ ......They charge a bunch of dollars just to sit in a chair. They probably make ten thousand bucks a day on renting chairs.... That is robbery. We just walked the beach and were just fine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I didn't get to go this time, but Ship Island has been one of my favorite destinations since childhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The sand is pure white and the consistency of baking flour. You can sit in the sand and let the waves break over you. You can rent chairs and umbrellas, or buy a flotation device. The entire place is relaxing. I love Ship Island!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very nice picnic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We had a friend with a boat so we had more freedom. The beaches were very nice the water was very nice. we enjoyed walking around the fort and Island. we took our own food so I don't know about there snackes there. we had a great time and will return as much as we can. the ferry ride is a bit high at $27 per person and limit what you can take but if you don't have a boat that is the only thing you can do..

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.