We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 35 attractions in Biloxi
Type: Islands, Hot Springs/ Geysers
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For lovers of the sea and boating, these Mississippi Barrier islands provide sun, beach and lots of outdoor fun.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took this trip and was not disappointed. I am a history person so seeing the Civil War fort was a real treat and island itself is nice and relaxing. The only sounds you hear are that of the wind and the waves. Plenty of beach so you can spread out and not be near the crowds. The boat ride ride was really enjoyable and even saw some dolphins. Overall it was a great trip and I would for sure do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    43
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The boat ride to the trip was nice and relaxing. The captain and the crew were very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw several dolphins following a shrimping boat that we passed by. The island itself was beautiful with white sand beaches. There was a volunteer tour guide that gave our group a tour of the Fort. He was quite a story teller and we enjoyed the tour and the history lesson. The snack bar had the usual items, but was affordable and tasty. Lunch for 2 was less than $10. We saw more dolphins chasing schools of fish off the beach and lots of jellyfish and blue crabs too. We walked the beach looking at the wildlife (birds) and found a horseshoe crab. The water around the beaches was clear and shallow; perfect for swimming and small children.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great nature excursion on a super boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a really nice day trip and I would highly recommend it. The boat and captain and staff are super, friendly, knowledgable and they really take care of the customers.

Ship Island itself is beautiful. Very wild and natural. We saw dolphins, jelly fish and stingrays from the beach.

There is a small snack bar if you don't feel like bringing a picnic. May be seasonal though?

Make sure you visit the Fort while you are there. It's really quite interesting!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty area, relaxing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Part of the National Seashore, it is accessable by private boat or tour boat. Right off the pier is the fort, which is well worth a quick look. Most people head across the boardwalk (@ 1/2 mile long) over to the beach. Umbrellas and chairs are rented there. Limited food choices at the snack bar, enough to keep you fed for the hours you are there. Restroom facilities are adequate but you may need to wait as there are only 2 showers in each side. Searching for shells is great and you can walk all the way around the island (6 Miles) if you have the energy. Summer is really hot and there is little to no shade except for the fort, pavillions and the umbrellas for rent. Can fish with a state license and many people seem to enjoy the variety of fish they can catch. Lots of people boogie boarding and using floats. Lifeguards are there only part of the season, so you have to watch out for your family! Disappointing there was no one to provide tours of the fort, only brochures available.
All in all a great place to visit but you need to be somewhat prepared to take care of yourself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the time we boarded the boat until our return to Biloxi, we were in awe! Ship Island is a beautiful place! It seems untouched by any commercialization! We saw dolphins, stingrays, right from the beach! The water is clear, and you can go quite a ways out! This is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.