We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty area, relaxing beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Attractions in Biloxi
Type: Islands, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Outdoors
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For lovers of the sea and boating, these Mississippi Barrier islands provide sun, beach and lots of outdoor fun.
south dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty area, relaxing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Part of the National Seashore, it is accessable by private boat or tour boat. Right off the pier is the fort, which is well worth a quick look. Most people head across the boardwalk (@ 1/2 mile long) over to the beach. Umbrellas and chairs are rented there. Limited food choices at the snack bar, enough to keep you fed for the hours you are there. Restroom facilities are adequate but you may need to wait as there are only 2 showers in each side. Searching for shells is great and you can walk all the way around the island (6 Miles) if you have the energy. Summer is really hot and there is little to no shade except for the fort, pavillions and the umbrellas for rent. Can fish with a state license and many people seem to enjoy the variety of fish they can catch. Lots of people boogie boarding and using floats. Lifeguards are there only part of the season, so you have to watch out for your family! Disappointing there was no one to provide tours of the fort, only brochures available.
All in all a great place to visit but you need to be somewhat prepared to take care of yourself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    54
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the time we boarded the boat until our return to Biloxi, we were in awe! Ship Island is a beautiful place! It seems untouched by any commercialization! We saw dolphins, stingrays, right from the beach! The water is clear, and you can go quite a ways out! This is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Best Experience of the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were disappointed to find that the Biloxi beaches were less than ideal for swimming. The water was murky and the bottom felt more like a lake than an ocean with squishy muddy spots. Ship Island was completely different! The beach and ocean had wonderful, soft, clean sand. The water was warm and clear and perfect for swimming. We saw a variety of marine life including tons of dolphins that swam alongside the boat, and crabs, stingrays and small, harmless sharks at Ship Island. Definitely spend the $25 and rent the chairs and umbrella, it was well worth it. The staff was very attentive and informative answering all of our questions. Ship Island is part of the National Park System so our daughter was able to earn a Junior Ranger badge. We visited at the end of August, local kids were already back in school so there weren't many people around. All around we had a wonderful time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only highlight was the Fort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very disappointed in this experience. We paid a lot of money for our family of 5 to take this trip. Dolphins were only spotted twice on the trip and both times on the other side of the boat for a brief moment. But we did see some way off in the distance at the beach. If you were looking at the right time you could see a spot jump out of the water. The water is not very clear at the beach. If it is clearer than other beaches in the area, then those other beaches have to be pretty bad. It was filled with jellyfish and people were getting stung every few minutes. We arrived around 10:00, and by noon most people were out of the water just waiting for the boat to return. Maybe a dozen or so brave people were left in the water. My children started out trying to go in until they heard other children screaming in pain from stings. Then it was all over. The food is horrendous. I had read reviews on this and thought it can't be that bad. We have eaten at plenty of theme parks and attractions and can always manage to be ok, and I didn't want to drag along a bigger cooler. We could not even take two bites out of the burgers. I have no idea what kind of meat it was, if it was even meat. It seems like they also try to compensate for the taste by overspicing it. The walk to the beach is not as bad, if you do want to bring a cooler. Most of the way is along a boarded walk, so rolling a cooler would be easy. Only a small distance through the sand to the chairs. It was really too hot to do much exploring elsewhere, especially with bored, hungry kids. The only good thing was the Fort tour. This was really a neat place to see and learn some history. The staff were also very nice and pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ship Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Ship Island during March 2013 as part of our spring break vacation with our son. This was a great day trip while staying in Biloxi. Be sure to check the ferry schedule, especially if going off season. The staff on the ferry were great, beach supplies were available for purchase (ie. buckets, sunscreen etc.). We took the tour of the fort that is located on the island which was very interesting. We then spent the day at the beach on the island. Make sure to pack your own lunch and bring it with you. There is no shelter on the island so pay attention to the weather forecast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.