We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 attractions in Biloxi
Type: Islands, Hot Springs/ Geysers
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For lovers of the sea and boating, these Mississippi Barrier islands provide sun, beach and lots of outdoor fun.
Texico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unbeatable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the time we boarded the boat until our return to Biloxi, we were in awe! Ship Island is a beautiful place! It seems untouched by any commercialization! We saw dolphins, stingrays, right from the beach! The water is clear, and you can go quite a ways out! This is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    49
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Best Experience of the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were disappointed to find that the Biloxi beaches were less than ideal for swimming. The water was murky and the bottom felt more like a lake than an ocean with squishy muddy spots. Ship Island was completely different! The beach and ocean had wonderful, soft, clean sand. The water was warm and clear and perfect for swimming. We saw a variety of marine life including tons of dolphins that swam alongside the boat, and crabs, stingrays and small, harmless sharks at Ship Island. Definitely spend the $25 and rent the chairs and umbrella, it was well worth it. The staff was very attentive and informative answering all of our questions. Ship Island is part of the National Park System so our daughter was able to earn a Junior Ranger badge. We visited at the end of August, local kids were already back in school so there weren't many people around. All around we had a wonderful time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only highlight was the Fort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very disappointed in this experience. We paid a lot of money for our family of 5 to take this trip. Dolphins were only spotted twice on the trip and both times on the other side of the boat for a brief moment. But we did see some way off in the distance at the beach. If you were looking at the right time you could see a spot jump out of the water. The water is not very clear at the beach. If it is clearer than other beaches in the area, then those other beaches have to be pretty bad. It was filled with jellyfish and people were getting stung every few minutes. We arrived around 10:00, and by noon most people were out of the water just waiting for the boat to return. Maybe a dozen or so brave people were left in the water. My children started out trying to go in until they heard other children screaming in pain from stings. Then it was all over. The food is horrendous. I had read reviews on this and thought it can't be that bad. We have eaten at plenty of theme parks and attractions and can always manage to be ok, and I didn't want to drag along a bigger cooler. We could not even take two bites out of the burgers. I have no idea what kind of meat it was, if it was even meat. It seems like they also try to compensate for the taste by overspicing it. The walk to the beach is not as bad, if you do want to bring a cooler. Most of the way is along a boarded walk, so rolling a cooler would be easy. Only a small distance through the sand to the chairs. It was really too hot to do much exploring elsewhere, especially with bored, hungry kids. The only good thing was the Fort tour. This was really a neat place to see and learn some history. The staff were also very nice and pleasant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ship Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Ship Island during March 2013 as part of our spring break vacation with our son. This was a great day trip while staying in Biloxi. Be sure to check the ferry schedule, especially if going off season. The staff on the ferry were great, beach supplies were available for purchase (ie. buckets, sunscreen etc.). We took the tour of the fort that is located on the island which was very interesting. We then spent the day at the beach on the island. Make sure to pack your own lunch and bring it with you. There is no shelter on the island so pay attention to the weather forecast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the perfect day trip in the Gulfport/Biloxi area. The beaches on the mainland didn't appeal to us, but the trip out to Ship Island was worthwhile. The water is much clearer and cleaner in appearance and the beach is nice. We were able to see dolphins during our time there and jellyfish on the trip over - watch out for them at the beach though, too.

There is a small historic fort that you are able to walk through at no additional cost. A small shop is open on the island that serves some food/drink and beach items (i.e. sunscreen, sandals, kids' toys, etc) and it is reasonably priced. You are allowed to bring coolers with your own food/drink, too. There are umbrellas and chairs available for rent ahead of time or on the island.

The ferry trip takes about 45 minutes each way. During peak times they offer multiple departures from the mainland and Ship Island, which is nice. We really enjoyed our time there and would go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ship Island to your Saves list