We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach, Best Experience of the Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
Attraction details
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Best Experience of the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were disappointed to find that the Biloxi beaches were less than ideal for swimming. The water was murky and the bottom felt more like a lake than an ocean with squishy muddy spots. Ship Island was completely different! The beach and ocean had wonderful, soft, clean sand. The water was warm and clear and perfect for swimming. We saw a variety of marine life including tons of dolphins that swam alongside the boat, and crabs, stingrays and small, harmless sharks at Ship Island. Definitely spend the $25 and rent the chairs and umbrella, it was well worth it. The staff was very attentive and informative answering all of our questions. Ship Island is part of the National Park System so our daughter was able to earn a Junior Ranger badge. We visited at the end of August, local kids were already back in school so there weren't many people around. All around we had a wonderful time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ships Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pack your stuff for the beach, and a tour of the historic fort ruins. Nice boat ride. Good snack bar with friendly staff and reasonable prices. (minimal menu selection)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ship Island is a wonderful place to really chill out on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. The water here is just beautiful and we always see Sting Rays in their natural habitat, Crocks and other sea life. Seldom do we run across Jelly Fish which can be a problem in the coastal areas. Touring the Fort was most interesting and the staff is very knowledgeable about the history of the Fort and the Island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Relaxing ride to island and nice clean beautiful beach. There was umbrellas and chairs for rent. Clean rest rooms and refreshments for sale.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Biloxi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you ever have been to Biloxi, you know that most of the beach is a sound, which means the water is stagnent and no waves, ship island is not! There are waves, feels just like a vacation beach with the exception of the hotels, and busy streets. The island has no shops or streets, just beach. Needs entertainment and better accesibility, but is the best beach for miles around.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.