We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Biloxi, MS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Attractions in Biloxi
Type: Islands, Hot Springs/ Geysers
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For lovers of the sea and boating, these Mississippi Barrier islands provide sun, beach and lots of outdoor fun.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A unique day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The boat trip to and from the island was pleasant. I am prone to motion sickness, but no problem here. Water was calm. We saw dolphins both ways. It was a beautiful day to walk the beach and look for "treasures". We also enjoyed the tour of the fort. There aren't many places you can visit and enjoy uninhabited beach. We were all adults and took a cooler (no glass) with us. We felt comfortable leaving it at the picnic area while we walked the beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    53
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband, myself, and 2 Teens had a truly enjoyable day at Ship Island. The water and beaches in Biloxi and Gulfport are not pleasant by any means, but this island 12 miles away is a true treasure and very beautiful.
The boat ride was fun for us as we did sit at the front of the boat and enjoyed looking over the side of the boat for dolphins. We enjoyed having a beer from the snack bar on the boat and relaxing on the pleasant ride.
Once on the island, the walk to the opposite side is quite long, but nice when you arrive. We walked the shore for an hour and barely saw anyone. We did rent chairs for $5 each which was reasonable, and we did eat at the snack bar which was not very good. We had cheeseburgers that were reheated and the buns were wet. Packing a small cooler with sandwiches would be a better idea for our next visit.
We also enjoyed walking around the Fort and exploring on our own, but next time we will take the free tour they offer of the Fort since it is certainly rich is history.
Seeing the stingrays was a treat for us all and we enjoyed sitting on the pier relaxing before our departure and boat ride back.
We all truly enjoyed our visit to Ship Island and we will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I haven't been to Ship Island since I was a kid, so 35 years later I didn't know what to expect. The ferry ride out to the island lasts about 1 hour. We went on a Sunday and it wasn't packed. About halfway there, dolphins started following the boat. Once at the island, it's about a 10 minute walk to the south end of the island where the water is clear and there are tons of shells to choose from. The snack bar was inexpensive and the bathrooms were clean.
This is a trip I would recommend to locals and visitors. We will definitely go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice boat ride out to the island. Saw pelicans,cormorants and a brief glimpse at dolphins frolicking. Boat was comfortable and food and drink were available on board. The island it's self has a fort to be explored and a guided tour if you want one. Big stingrays clearly visible in the sea and there are also small jellyfish around. All in all a very pleasant trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went out on a sunny day. Temp was about 60 to 70 with light winds. Great place to spend a day on the beach in the chairs that are rented for the day with an umbrella ($25 total). Fort is interesting and worth a visit. It was lucky enough to miss any real combat during Civil War or other conflicts, but was often a staging area for forces wanting to invade the main land. About 11 miles off the coast and it takes about an hour to get there and back but at least on this day the ride was smooth. The crew and staff on ferry were helpful and polite. Very limited food available on the island, might be good to bring own picnic and drinks in a cooler. Wonderful place to spend a restful day with little activities. Surprised that I could get cellphone coverage on island and ferry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.