We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“work in progress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauvoir

Beauvoir
2244 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531
228 388 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided or self-guided tour of this grand plantation home where Jefferson Davis, the only president of the Confederacy, spent the last 12 years of his life. This 51-acre site also houses a Civil War Museum, the Tomb of the Unknown Confederate Soldier, a historic cemetery and Davis's library.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“work in progress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

since my husband & I were the only 2 on our tour, we were able to get a more personal view by the docent that we really enjoyed. Not just info re: Jefferson Davis, but local point of view re; more recent events. Lovely interior of home. We were able to take photos.
gift shop small. Still working on the Presidential library. Repair work from Katrina continues.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    114
    30
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gotta see the Festival of Lights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Over 100 trees are now lit at Beauvoir, the former home of Confederate President, Jefferson Davis. Beauvoir is located just east of the MS Gulf Coast Coliseum on Hwy 90/Beach Boulevard. Tours at night are available during the holiday season through Jan 6 on Thurs-Sun evenings from 5-9pm. "Meet" Jefferson Davis and his wife, Varina...hear stories about Christmas in the Confederacy during the Civil War, hear local musicians, carolers, kids can do crafts, food truck from Half Shell Oyster House on site, tour the house, model train exhibit, craft table for kids, Father Klaus, and a trackless train that tours the property (on select nights). This is a "don't miss" Christmas light show on the Mississippi and Central Gulf Coast!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm a history nut, so this is not to be missed. Very informative staff, lovely home. No crowds. Very nice restoration.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you like history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there in May and really enjoyed our visit. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The cost to get in was reasonable and once the tour was over you could roam the grounds on your own. The gift shop was small, but had some nice items. I would like to return when they get the library completed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
962 reviews 962 reviews
538 attraction reviews
Reviews in 323 cities Reviews in 323 cities
1,076 helpful votes 1,076 helpful votes
“Step back into Confederate history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Admission price to this site includes tour of a small museum, which is in the same trailer as the office and gift shop, and a 30 minute film about the home and its origins. This is in addition to the tour through the house which takes about half an hour or so. The furniture inside dates back to the mid nineteenth century and the place is well kept. Located in back of the house is a Confederate cemetery which contains a memorial to the unknown Confederate soldier. There are scores of graves of Confederate dead located in the cemetery. The route back to the cemetery is a short walk which takes one over a small bridge which crosses a small body of water. As we were walking back to the cemetery a huge alligator walked across the path and into the water. It was far enough away not to be a threat, however it was interesting to see this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauvoir also viewed

 

Been to Beauvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.