We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Should be ashamed of themselves!"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Bay St. Louis

Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Bay St. Louis to your Saves list
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 Highway 90, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Should be ashamed of themselves!"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife had some ladyfriends over. Our 'camp' is small, so I volunteered to give up my room. From the outside this appeared to be just what I was looking for; a basic, inexpensive place to sleep. WRONG! Had to beg to get a price of $70 p/tx. Given wrong directions, after three tries, I open the door to a run-down, stained and bad-smelling room. The bed was worn-out. I slept on top of the sheets with my clothes on with no pillow. There was one washcloth, one small towel, and no shampoo; not even a bar of soap. That didn't matter so much since the fiberglass bathtub had a softball sized hole in the floor. I wanted to leave, but the Key West was full and the Hollywood wanted nearly twice the price. I left shortly after day-break, my entire stay was less than 8 hours. Turning in my key, I told the clerk, "You should be ashamed charging so much for such a room."

Room Tip: Do yourself a big favor and go somewhere, anywhere else! I only rated the location because every ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We apologize for your inconvenient stay. If you had informed mgmt and given the opportunity, We would have gladly made an effort to accommodate you or refund you if you were not satisfied. Regarding the pricing, if you came on a weekend, such as Memorial Day, the rates are going to be higher at other hotels as well. We would have also gladly offered to give you the missing amenities and refresh your room, or switch you if you were unhappy with the room you stayed in. The property has just turned over to new management, and is working hard to make a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
15
10
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our trip from Fort Worth to Key West. First, the clerk at the front desk went above and beyond to accommodate us. The only rooms available were two doubles but she offered us a rm with a minifridge that didn't work. We were totally ok with that! To add to it we got a discount because of the nonworking fridge. She was extremely helpful and friendly! Our room was clean and was fine for an overnight stay! We would recommend this motel to our friends also riding thru the area!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We generally do not rent rooms that are out of inventory for maintenance, however, if the hotel is full, we make case by case exceptions for a deeper discount as long as it is not a safety issue. We really don't like to turn away a tired guest if they are agreeable with the minor inconvenience and compensation! Thanks again and come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I am very shocked to see the negative reviews on here. While I admit this is just a basic hotel, I have always been treated wonderfully. Paula & Darlene (hope I remembered correctly) we absolutely wonderful as always. Anyone complaining of the price during Cruisin' the Coast, obviously did not check other local hotels. If you want something spectacular......you can surely find it elsewhere for $300 +. We have stayed it 4 times now. The rooms are very spacious, and have a fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast is comprable to any other. I found no rude clerks or staff. Our shower was broken, I called and it was fixed in less than 15 minutes. They had security on site for the event. They accomadated every request I made with no complaints. Our reservation was made online and somehow came out wrong, but they promptly and politely fixed everthing. They addressed me by my first name, even though they were full. My one and only drawback has always been that I wish they had a pool. But other than that, I would recommend this hotel, and will stay again. Yes their prices rise for Cruisin the Coast, but only by $20 or so, not the $100 or more at other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and sensible review. The hotel's pricing is based on the market, and we are glad you took time to write this and shed light on this matter. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at this same hotel 5 times in the last 7 months. The first time we stayed there the room was clean and the staff were friendly. The second time I stayed there the room was not as nice as the last time but the staff was friendly. Each successive time I stayed there the room went down hill. I was supposed to be in a non smoking room and their were burn holes in the bedspread and the carpet and the smoke alarm kept going off and on for no reason. The final straw came when the price of the room suddenly jumped from $49 to $85 because there was an event going to be happening on the weekend. We were there on a Monday afternoon. We had no choice but to pay the price as we were both worn to a frazzle from the drive. The clerk was very rude and told us to "take it or leave it" it didn't matter to her one way or another. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbiloxi, Owner at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the behavior of the clerk and we will be sure to continue training our staff for superior customer service. The pricing changed on the weekend due to a very high demand yearly event. If you had opted to go to another hotel, you would have had the same concern of higher weekend rates. Thank you again for your review. We are happy that you have stayed so often and hope you give Knights Inn another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very sleazy and run down. Everywhere else was full, so I was stuck. The floor was stained and I put all my luggage on tables and chairs in fear that something would crawl in. There was hair in the sink and crumbs on the floor. My bathroom had scalding hot water ONLY, so I could not shower. They opened another room so I could take a shower. The staff was polite, but it really creeped me out. I kept looking for a camera or peephole. I looked for bedbugs, but saw nothing on the mattress but yellow stains. However, I was bitten by either bedbugs or fleas all night. I just felt nasty. I heard the Casino was a better place to stay, but heard the rooms reeked of smoke. If I have to go here again, I will choose the casino despite a tobacco allergy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbiloxi, Owner at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review. The Knights Inn staff is very motivated to make our guest happy. We apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. We strive to provide a clean and safe facility for our patrons. We have a 24 hour front desk, brightly lit public areas, and full property camera systems for our guests' safety. We do not have cameras inside the rooms as this would be an invasion of privacy, and illegal. The only peephole would be the one on the door as well, so you were not put in any harm's way while staying with us. We also have a contract with Orkin Pest Control to ensure guest comfort. Knights Inn also has successfully passed all QAs from Wyndham since its opening in 2007. While none of these facts can alleviate your disatisfaction with the stay, I hope that you accept our apologies for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed with another couple for an Elvis contest. I could tell that the rooms had been vacuumed and the bathrooms were clean but that was it. The first room had a bad smell like mold or like an animal had been in it and used the bathroom on the carpet. We stayed an extra day and asked for a room change but had to change rooms 2 times to get a room that smelled good. The other couple had the same problem. Still waiting to hear form
the manager for about 3 weeks now. Would not recommend. Will stay in Pass Christian Ms, next time. The lady at the front desk was very nice though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi and Thank you for your review. We apologize for your inconveniences while staying at Knights Inn. We will use your feedback to continue training our staff. I am glad you decided to stay an extra day despite the grievances with the room. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, GA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've been in Knights Inns before and had no desire to return. Thanks to ta.com and the other reviewers, I stayed here and saved $. Probably the best Knights Inn in the chain. Good value: kudos to the owners, the whole chain would likely thrive if they'd follow your model.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BiloxiHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi and Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Knights Inn is an economy class hotel, but we always strive to provide as much as we can for our price point. We are happy that you noticed and appreciated our efforts. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Bay St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Bay St. Louis

Address: 1003 Highway 90, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520
Location: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Bay St. Louis 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Bay St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Bay St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.