We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old house and garden with very hospitable hosts, delicious breakfast, bicycles for getting around town: Bay Saint Loui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carroll House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carroll House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   304 Carroll Ave., Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely old house and garden with very hospitable hosts, delicious breakfast, bicycles for getting around town: Bay Saint Loui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Gulf coast's high season is summer time, but spring and fall are beautiful and less crowded. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay this week in the master bedroom of the Carroll House, handsomely restored since 2005 by its new owners, who live next-door. They provided a delicious breakfast, asking in advance if we had any food allergies, etc., and offered excellent suggestions for lunch and dinner in town and activities on water and land. It is indeed the best place to stay in Bay Saint Louis for anyone looking for local charm!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing place to getaway for the weekend with our little dog, Daisy and the Carroll House was the perfect location. It is just a couple of blocks from the beach and the center of town. Our hosts were kind, accommodating, and informative. They were available for all of our questions and needs. They have a nice little fenced in yard in the back where we were able to let our dog run around without concern that she might walk herself to the beach or some other parts unknown. We also enjoyed the artwork around the house; beautiful paintings and photographs, most created by the innkeeper herself, nice work Jane. Breakfast was delicious and homemade, we really enjoyed dining with the other guests and sharing in their conversations. Book your room now...go and relax!

Room Tip: We traveled with our dog and found the master suite a good choice for our situation. The master sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a beautiful old house with a lot of history. The owner was VERY nice, informative and helpful. I have food allergies and she went out of her way to make a breakfast for me that didn't cause me issues... I would definitely say here again. It is only a couple of blocks from the beautiful beaches and this is a great area. I wish I had more time to spend here but from what I seen, I loved Bay St. Louis! My only two complaints were 1. the walls are thin, so it was hard to sleep because you can hear a lot of noise outside, including trains going by at night. 2. the bed was too soft for me. It hurt my hip. If you need a firm mattress, this may not be a perfect choice for you. But otherwise, I loved it and would definitely plan to stay again. It was my first B & B experience and it was a spontaneous choice and I am so glad I did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane a, Owner at Carroll House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are always happy to accommodate special diet needs as long as we know a few days in advance. Thank you for your feedback about the bed. For future reference, we have a 'Sleep Number bed' in the Master Suite. The firmness can be adjusted to whatever you need!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend here before I left for Afghanistan. All I can say is that we enjoyed everything about our visit. The room was very clean, and Jane's breakfasts were superb. My wife is saving the jar of Jane's homemade kumquat jam to share with me when I get back from deployment later this year. The house was very quiet and peaceful, and the other guests were great company in the morning. Even the homemade lemoncellos were tasty. With Jane's help, our stay was a very romantic one with roses and champagne. We plan on returning here again if I come back this way after the deployment. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone interested in a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane a, Owner at Carroll House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. I am so glad that the 2 of you could get away before you had to leave and that you chose The Carroll House for such a special time. Thank you for your service and sacrifice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We wanted to check out the Mississippi coast and felt fortunate to have found this friendly bed and breakfast. We loved the house and the quaint town. The owner was friendly and helpful and served amazing breakfasts. It was a nice size and enjoyed meeting the other guests. We plan to come back. Very comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose the perfect B&B for our Wedding Anniversary! We had never stayed in a B&B before and were a bit doubtful that we would like it. Now, we can hardly wait until we can stay there again! The Carroll House is so very pretty and comfortable, and the Inn Keepers, Jane and Kevin, are delightful and hospitable; plus Jane is a terrific cook! The location in Old Town and so near the beach is perfect! Bay Saint Louis is a delightfully friendly place to visit. We highly recommend the town and The Carroll House B&B to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed one full week in the Cottage. Very Clean! Owners are very friendly and helpful. We met several locals in area and everyone made you feel welcome. The Breakfast's were fantastic and enjoyed meeting the other guests each morning. Very nice area, and a easy 50 min drive into New Orleans. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
#2 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
3-star, Pool, F...
Show More
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
13.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
15.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gulfport Beachfront
Pets Allowed, B...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge and Suites
Econo Lodge and Suites
#1 of 2 in Diamondhead
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 304 Carroll Ave., Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed yet luxurious atmosphere of the beautifully restored historic home. Located in the heart of Historic Old Town Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, 2 blocks from the Gulf of Mexico. Stroll just 2 blocks to the beach, or to our quaint down town for Antique shopping, fine dining or just browsing. A 5 minute drive will take you to the Hollywood Casino for some excitement. Fishing Charters and Island excursions available for the adaventurers. If relaxing is your pleasure, enjoy our beautiful gardens, sip tea on the back porch, or swing on the front porch, whatever you enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Carroll House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carroll House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.