We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
Save
You added Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Praia Da Barra, Inhambane 0000, Mozambique   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long Stay Special
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

While being extremely up market, Bluefootprints doesn't lose the awesome rustic Mozambican charm.. it's the perfect getaway for those that want something "a little more luxurious" than the typical Mozambican accomodation offers.

Meals were superb and ranged from Crayfish and braaied Barracuda to incredible steak (difficult to get great meat in Moz). Breakfast fruits could have been more varied though.

The chalets are clean and very welcoming and although there is no airconditioning, the chalets are right on top of the dunes and allow for excellent ventilation with the doors and windows open (even in the middle of December). The outdoor shower is amazing.. you won't even use the one inside.

The staff were great and always willing to help with lifts into Barra, Tofu, etc. (the lodge is between the two small towns). In particular, John, Liz and Orlando went truly out of their way for us.

On the Barra side, you must try Mad Mozzies Restaurant and on the Tofu side; Dino's, the Tofu Scuba and Casa Barry make incredible seafood.

The only shortfall about our stay, was the fact that alcohol and cocktails bought from the lodge are extremely pricey.. more than double what the local restaurants and pubs charge.

Otherwise, it was amazing and we'll definately go back.. an idyllic setting for those that love a homely, natural lifestyle - complete with dogs.. "White Puppy" and "Shoes" are truly part of the furniture and wonderful companions during your stay.

Room Tip: Chalet 1 is the closest to the main lodge, but next time around I'll go for Chalet 5 because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a superb holiday we have just had at blue footprints! This is the first time we have written a review but blue footprints was so exceptional we felt that we should share this with the world. Nothing was too much trouble, liz and John and their staff always went the extra mile to give us a fabulous holiday . Mozambique is a wonderful country , the people were very friendly and helpful and the location for blue footprints was stunning . We would every morning to the sound of the ocean , a view of the deserted beach and hot coffee brought down to our bungalow . We ate under the stars most nights , the good was fab . best find of the week was green turtle just down from barra beach . Thank you blue footprints for a wonderful week and we would love to come back . X

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was sorting through photos from my trip to Mozambique that I took this past July...long overdue. But it's the best time to look at photos of a perfect vacation spent in a serene, untouched, part of the Inhambane coast when it's winter in NYC. My boyfriend and I learned about Blue Footprints EcoLodge from Trip Advisor reviews and I have to say, the positive reviews are spot on! Lisa, Liz, and the rest of the team were impeccable hosts. They went out of their way to accommodate our needs and it started from the minute we were interested in booking a chalet. They were extremely responsive to our emails. And extremely helpful to us when we were trying to find our way to the ecolodge, as we were very lost and behind schedule on our drive from Maputo. The lodge is located right on the beach, and the road leading there from the main road is best traveled with a 4x4, but with Lisa's help we were able to navigate our way with a regular SUV.

The food was absolutely amazing. We ate every meal at the ecolodge and definitely made the right decision. Although it is very easy to walk to other lodges and restaurants along the beach. There is a great market that sells local crafts in walking distance too (approximately a 40 minute walk if you're really strolling...which you should be since it is vacation!) And if you're lucky, White Puppy and the rest of dogs will accompany you. *smiles*

And the individual chalets...with the surreal views of the beach...it left us speechless. The stars shine brilliantly in the evenings and on our first morning, we woke up early to a great sunrise that illuminated our room, and had a delicious breakfast while watching whales breaching in the near distance. That on it's own brought smiles to our face and really helped to set the tone for our stay. It could only get better, and it did.

We are very much looking forward to our next visit! Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Any of their chalets are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at Blue Footprints and I cannot compliment them enough. The location, facilities, service and staff are absolutely amazing and you would be a fool to even consider anywhere else in this area.

The lodge is ideally situated between Barra and Tofu (+-6km to either if you walk along the beach) which means you are close enough to access them but far enough away to avoid the mainstream hustle and bustle. The facilities are 5 star and the chalets are situated on the sand dunes over looking the sea which provides a breathtaking view.

The staff are superb and will go out of there way to make you feel at home and cater to your every need. A big thank you to Liz, Lisa, John and the rest of the team. You made our stay.

Food wise... we were simply blown away. Sam is an amazing chef and his Seared Tuna was out of this world.
.
If you're thinking of spending some time in this part of Mozambique Blue Footprints is a MUST!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2. All are great but I think rooms 2, 4 and 5 are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My boyfriend and me stayed at the Blue Footprints Ecolodge for 5 days. It was the best part of our trip through Namibia and Mozambique.
Liz and Lisa run this place in an excellent way that makes you feel home. And it's not just about having cosi rooms with a great view, it's about getting the best dinner menu every day and enjoying the breakfast by the sunset! We just love it and will never forget the wonderful time we had!
Thank you both Liz and Lisa for make it possible and also thanks to all the staff working there: you all are a great team!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My stay at Blue Footprints was brief but memorable for all the right reasons; watching whales swim past while eating breakfast, walking for miles on a pristine near-deserted beach, happy hours spent reading in my hammock with only the sound of the ocean in the background and Lisa's warm welcome and 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude.

The lodge is very remote so if you are after bars and restaurants you will be better off in Tofo, but if you want absolute peace and quiet and quality accommodation in a stunning location then I would recommend Blue Footprints all day, every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a great 4 nights at the lodge. Pictures do not do justice of the colours and the feel of the place. Many people have spoken of the tranquility and beauty of the lodge, so I wont repeat that. I think what my wife and I found as absolutely fantastic was what the lodge is achieving in terms of being eco friendly. 'Eco' sometimes means 'missing out' in my books, but Lisa and team have managed to provide the service and hospitality that does not leave you wanting something a bit more. The little personal touches and attention to detail leave lasting memories. Lisa and John were great hosts. Lisa is so knowledgeable on the area and more importantly so passionate about what they are doing. She seems to have integrated the lodge seamlessly into the community and is creating hopefully a lasting footprint!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge

Address: Praia Da Barra, Inhambane 0000, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Footprints Eco Lodge offers barefoot luxury accommodation between Barra and Tofo, Mozambique. Exclusive scuba diving with Mozambique's Manta Rays and Whale Sharks. The lodge is off-grid and powered by the sun's energy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.