We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to interstate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Woodbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Woodbury
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   9840 Norma Lane, Woodbury, MN 55125   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodbury
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Close to interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here one night. Good location. Next to shopping and dining. If it wasn't so cold i would have walked to restaurant. Convenient store down the street. Quiet room. Very nice staff. Good breakfast bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
7
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
IL
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Pretty convenient location near the interstate and plenty of restaurants and stores, for the most part room was clean. I would guess the hotel is still fairly new as most of the room appears that way.
I'm not sure if I should be impressed by this HIE location, or if I just realize that so many other HIE hotels are run down and have little to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

3rd time we've stayed there. We think of it as our convenient stop on our way to the twin cities. We've usually pulled in late at night with no reservations. Price is reasonable and location is safe and convenient. Breakfast is ok. Staff is polite.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a layover stop on a trip. Late check in was flawless and we were met with a smiling friendly face upon our arrival. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and it was hot. Breakfast area was clean and the staff was attentive. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a great hotel in a good location in St. Paul. It's about a minute drive to I94. Lots of shops and restaurants close by, some within walking distance. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. There's a indoor large pool and smaller kiddie pool for the little ones. The kids (all teens) just loved this. Hot breakfast was excellent. My only comment is that I booked 2 rooms but couldn't get adjoining rooms. Guess calling in advance to make sure that could be accommodated would've solved this. Overall, can't think of a better place to stay while in St. Paul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express meets all the criteria that I look for in this brand. I stay at HI Express a lot. Some of them can be disappointing. This property though, directly east of the twin cities and within shouting distance of the I94, is a very well-appointed, clean, and well-run facility. I was concerned that we would have road noise from the highway, but our room was completely quiet, even with the window cracked slightly.

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early August 2013. We checked in after a long day of driving and the front desk clerk was very personable and friendly. There was a problem with our room (fire alarm was chirping) and she moved us without any problem, apologizing for the problem. Room was immaculate. Smelled clean. The morning breakfast is typical HIE fare, but certainly very good and well- attended to by the staff. Access to i94 is very easy and close, and there are many restaurants, gas stations, and stores close by. Overall, this is an excellent example of what a Holiday Inn Express should be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front parking lot, away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The property is newer and clean. I was greeted by 3 nice ladies working the desk and they were helpful. I received the top floor room that I requested. Modern clean room with a frig and flat screen. When I walked across the parking lot to the restaurant I noticed the traffic noise. From my room, you could hear it when the A/C was not running. Nothing horrible, but noticeable. Breakfast was the standard, but had limited seating. The area around the hotel is safe and has plenty of food options.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway. The top floor was ok, but I could hear the trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodbury, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear B W ,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodbury

Address: 9840 Norma Lane, Woodbury, MN 55125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Woodbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites St. Paul/Woodbury, fresh from a million dollar renovation. Enjoy our newly expanded Express Start breakfast area and business center. As a guest at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites St. Paul/Woodbury, we have thought of everything to make your stay the very best. Starting with our complimentary hot deluxe Express Start breakfast, our 101 room hotel includes whirlpool, fireplace, one and two room suites with refrigerators and microwaves. We are a non-smoking hotel with pet friendly rooms. During your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites St. Paul/Woodbury enjoy our indoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room and free wireless Internet. Feel refreshed with our new bathroom design, including our new custom shower heads made by Kohler, and our new Simply Smart bath amenities. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites St. Paul/Woodbury is conveniently located near 3M's World Headquarters (4.2 miles), Afton Alps (10.4 miles), Downtown St. Paul including the St. Paul River Centre, Xcel Center and State Capital (10.5 miles), and Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) (21.6 miles). Several shopping malls in Woodbury including, Woodbury Lakes with 57 stores, Tamarack Village, and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodbury Hotel Woodbury
Holiday Inn Woodbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Woodbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.