We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice sports bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray J's American Grill

Ray J's American Grill
9854 Norma Lane, Woodbury, MN 55125
651-714-2035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray J's American Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Woodbury
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice sports bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I often eat alone and keep weird hours, and this is one place I know I can get very good food late at night and where I'm comfortable being alone with a novel. The chicken wings are amazing. I can't say they are the best in the twin cities because I haven't tried every place, but they are the best I've eaten in any city. It has a pleasant atmosphere of people having fun. It has never been too loud when I've been there ... except when a local team makes a score, and that is part of the fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome place to just chill out and have wings...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The happy hour specials are awesome. The wings are real chicken wings. Super good! Pizzas are hand tossed and delicious. The wait staff is always around and ready. Sports bar atmosphere so don't expect a high class treatment. It's in Woodbury but not "like" Woodbury. Here, people drink beer and lick the sauce off their fingers! Great place to go with the guys!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been going to here for years. Always guaranteed good service, food and a cold Guinness on tap. Wings are actually wings - not drummies. Seared Ahi Tuna is fantastic. Wood fire pizzas are great and they have a decent patio area. One of the best in Woodbury.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Next to the holiday inn where I stayed. Food was good. Bar servers were top flight, pleasant and efficient. Definitely stop whe I am again in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Eh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We used to eat at Ray J's as a family years ago and always found the food OK. Last night a group of women went for a moms' night out. We had sandwiches, and one salad for our vegetarian friend.

My friend who had the pear salad was probably the most happy. It was huge and loaded with pears and cheese chunks. None of the rest of us were overly impressed. My reuben was boring (corned beef was low on taste and I couldn't find any cheese) and my potato salad side consisted of four halved small potatoes with a huge chunks of harsh onion and a very funky horseradish dressing. Jean, who always eats dessert instead of a meal, ate most of her huge piece of cheesecake. She said it was definitely not homemade.

Service was spotty; although the waitress did not flinch at 8 separate checks (always welcome), she did not come and refill our water glasses or ask how the meals were, and she didn't offer another round of drinks or desserts for anyone after dinner was served. I think we were her last table and she just wanted to go home!

Nice bar and the wings looked fabulous. Guessing that a night out with drinks and wings would have been a smarter way to experience Ray J's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray J's American Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ray J's American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray J's American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.