We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They basically told us to "Hurry up and leave"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Akita Sushi & Hibachi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akita Sushi & Hibachi
779 Bielenberg Drive, Woodbury, MN 55125
(651) 578-7888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 70 restaurants in Woodbury
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They basically told us to "Hurry up and leave"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend, his son and I went to Akita for dinner on Sunday night. We sat down for only 15 minutes and just made our first order. Our server (A lady-with terrible english) came back and told us "You can only order 2 times and we close" I was so blown away by the rudeness and horrible service. They were opened for another hour and 15 minutes and already wanted us out! Hello? its called "ALL YOU CAN EAT".. I never use to mind going to Akita, but they've just lost more customers but we definitely will not be going back there anymore. I gave that server a not so good tip and she was bitc**** away in the kitchen or wherever she was about it. It was so loud, we heard it on our way out the door. My boyfriend's son didnt even get a chance to eat and they charged us for a 4 year old who didnt eat anything. Never AGAIN!!

We definitely paid too much and little food and bad service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    29
    38
    9
    21
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“decent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

decent sushi, good service, pleasant and comfortable atmosphere all at a good price. Try the lunch or all you care to eat for great prices

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you have been craving sushi they make it to order and you get to order of the menu as many times as you want for just one price! It's a great value!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE SERVICE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've got to say that I don't mind their sushi and all. Their menu is great but the service is TERRIBLE! Sometimes I think that maybe it was just the server that we got. So next time we go back, different server and same service! We've had SUCH bad experience there, so we stopped going there! I kid you not, one time the server dropped the check off and she rolled her eyes at us. Every time she came back to take our order, she has a very rude attitude. Just plain rude. I'm a server myself and I know how to treat other server. I am disgusted by this place. DON'T EVER GO IN A LARGE GROUP BECAUSE THE MORE PEOPLE THE WORST THE SERVICE GETS.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad SERVICE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Come on Akita... You overcharge your sushi and you don't have website! I will never go back and eat there ever again. The service is.... can't explain it anymore. The food, it's not even fresh... Extremely disappointed for the bad service, food and NO WEBSITE!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akita Sushi & Hibachi also viewed

 

Been to Akita Sushi & Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akita Sushi & Hibachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.