We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

we were travelling on our way home and needed a place to stay for the night, called around and nothing, happened to see a sign on 1-90 for hotel in winona, checked with the holiday inn express and only had rooms for $154.00 a night, we checked next door and they had one room left with two queen beds, to our surprise we found it to be a very clean and well run hotel, staff was very friendly, and the price was much lower than next door, very nice restaurant for breakfast with discount coupons

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you, William, for taking the time to write a review! Thank you also, for your kind compliments regarding our hotel and staff. My daily goal is to create a great experience for both our guests and employees, and I'm so glad that you noticed! We hope you stop and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
36
13
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

In town for family reunion, made reservations through Orbitz, evidently reservations showed for a 1 King 2 adults no kids, but should have been 2 queen 2 adults 3 kids. The woman at the desk was very helpful and got us the room we needed, $129/night, which was great for the room we got. Good sized room, very clean, nothing at all to find fault with. The pool area is wonderful, kids area with kiddie slides and shallow water is great for our 4 year old, our 7 and 9 year olds loved the swim pool. I loved the hot tub, large sized, water wasn't so hot that it burned your skin. Area was very clean as well with a nice amount of towels. Even though we didn't have time to use the fitness center, again, very nice and clean. Kids especially loved the TV in the bathroom. Have stayed in this Hotel previously when it was the Holiday inn, but is now the Plaza...continues with great quality. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. So much seems to get lost in reservations made through online agencies, know that it's always best to book with a hotel directly. I'm very glad that we were able to accommodate the additional people, and that everyone enjoyed our hotel amenities. Thank you for your kind reference to the staff - they are very hardworking and it means a lot to all of us to know that you appreciated their efforts. Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for a decent place to sleep for a night with our family. Most hotels were sold out, and we were traveling with a small dog. We stayed in a family suite. I was pleased at the roominess of our suite (nice, big bathroom). We bought some wings in in the Green Mill (attached restaurant), and a couple beers. The wings were very good - definitely recommend. The kids enjoyed the hot tub; they were a little old for the kiddy pool, but if you have small kids, that would be a perk of this hotel. There's a regular pool and a smaller pool for young children. All in all, I'd return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We LOVE people who travel with their dogs, and were happy that we could accommodate your family's needs. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the coupons offered for the Green Mill Restaurant while you were here, too. We'll look forward to your next visit to Winona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family held a reunion in Homer Valley this weekend, several of us traveling from out of town
needed hotel accommodations for the July 4th holiday and the Plaza was recommended to us by a local relative. We were all extremely pleased with the rooms, the restaurant, and the amenities offered by the hotel (pool/fitness room). The staff was super-friendly, our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that your family was able to take advantage of the great amenities offered at The Plaza Hotel and Suites! The staff is always happy to hear about our guests' visits, and we all hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I travel on business to Winona on a monthly basis and have stayed at just about every property in town. This is my first stay here, I usually opt for a cheaper hotel. Even with AAA discount this property is spendy. Building is nicely kept up with a Green Mill restaurant attached. Rooms are a cross between modern and old based on furnishings. 40" flat screen but older wood dressers and wall paper border. Comfortable beds and was clean...no free breakfast but a coupon for a dollar off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in beautiful Winona. We're very happy that you noticed the beginning of our décor changes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

excellent motel...Friendly and very family orientated. every thing was very clean. We took our grandkids for a night with grandma and grandpa and they were the happiest kids around! They are begging to go back.

Room Tip: this motel and staff could not get any better...The family suite is the best...plenty of things for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Susan, we are very glad to hear that you, your husband, and grandkids enjoyed your time with us. We provide a variety of amenities and information for our guests whether it be a family or an individual traveling alone. Our very kid friendly pool area allows both children and adults to enjoy themselves as well as the restaurant. We hope you took advantage of the discount and kids eat free coupons for the Green Mill. We hope to see you and your grandkids soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had an awesome time in your beautiful hotel.We enjoyed the great pools and hot tub.We loved or family suite lots of room clean and neat. We had and awesome time and we will be coming back again.The pizza from the green mill was so goooood !! I wish we could get it here ! All in all a most enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: great place to bring family and grand kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you, Brenda, for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Plaza Hotel and Suites. We are happy to hear that the pool and hot tub were a hit with you and your family. The front desk and housekeeping staff work very hard to provide the cleanest rooms and the best possible service to all of our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.