We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Winona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Winona to your Saves list
Days Inn Winona
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Cottonwood Drive, Winona, MN 55987   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Dilworth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is located just off of HWY 61 and 14 in a good location. We were here for a softball tournament with other families. The room that we were in was a bit larger than some of the others. The 2 double beds were very comfortable as they have new mattresses in the rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was like many others, fruits, cereals, pastries, bread, bagels, english muffins, waffles, coffee, juice and milk. We would definitely stay here again. There is no pool or elevator in this hotel and the only entrance is through the main doors to get in. You can get out the other doors, but they do not have access to get in as they remained locked from the outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. As a small hotel we take security very seriously and this is why the main entrance is the only entrance we have for guest to enter thru. The back entrance is available to exit thru should your room be closer to the back entrance.

We look forward to your next visit to Winona and good luck with your Softball tournaments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    52
    25
    22
See reviews for
115
37
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place is simple. The staff was so nice and helpful. The rooms are small but very clean. My Daughter and I were there for New Student Orientation at St Mary's and just need a place to sleep. I would recomend, if you aren't looking for spacious and extras. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you on your next trip to Winona,
We are a supporter of St. Mary's University and as the closest hotel to St. Mary's we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As a person with allergies it is great to find a No Pets Allowed motel! The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the breakfast area was good. An added plus - a short walk across the parking lot to a good restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. In addition to the no pets policy the hotel is also 100% Non-Smoking. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

For the past 4 years I have been in and out of Winona a couple of times a year and this is my first stay at DI.

I arrived very early and the desk clerk was so friendly and accommodating!

We chose this hotel because of their apartment - we were in town for graduation and needed a place for family to gather. I stayed in a single room. Pleasantly surprised - very clean. It had a queen bed and a comfy chair with an ottoman.
There are rooms with the typical table and chairs if you want that.

Free wireless was easy to access.

Bathroom was a bit small, but had the curved shower curtain rod. I am tall - almost 6' - and the shower head was mounted high enough that I didn't have to contort myself to wash my hair.

The noise from the hallway was noticeable but not annoying - it was graduation weekend, so it was to be expected.

The continental breakfast was standard - waffles, etc. - but very good/fresh.

There is a Ground Round restaurant that is across the parking lot - had a meal there - typical "pub" food, but very good.

If I ever make it back to Winona, I would choose this place.

Room Tip: The apartment is a true apartment with a full kitchen, separate bedroom, large living/dining room, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Don't know how anyone could rate this place "excellent." The carpet and bedding hasn't been changed in at least a decade. The whole place is dingy and depressing and just feels unclean. The beds are uncomfortable. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Not worth the $$ and it's so uncomfortable you may as well sleep in your car.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. We strive to make each stay a comfortable one. During your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to call the front desk should the accommodations not be to your expectations. We will do everything we can to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

A very freindly and clean place and quite will stay there again front staff was very freindly and helpful and we ordered pizza from Sammy very good and they deliver to your room

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We all love Sammy's pizza and hopefully you will visit us again during your next stay in Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadCity, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Clean rooms, reasonable rates, and helpful staff made our stay pleasurable. We were on our yearly visit with stops at the Marine Musuem (art trekkies, don't miss this), an architectural hike (downtown banks are Prairie Style heaven), and good restaurants around town. You won't find a lot of add-on amenities here, but for the value, who cares? There is a complimentary breakfast to start the day and free wifi. Refrigerators are available for an extra fee. Will stay here again, for the value, for the convenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Winona, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Days Inn Guest,

Thank you for the kinds words. We hope your travels are safe and we hope to see you again when your trekking brings you back to Winona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Winona

Address: 420 Cottonwood Drive, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Winona 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complimentary Continental breakfast is served each morning. Days Inn Winona also offers a fitness facility, wireless Internet access, and conference rooms. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winona Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Winona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.