We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Winona

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Winona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Winona
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1025 Sugarloaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987 (Formerly Nichols Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Winona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No frills but good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited my daughter at Winona State for the weekend. Good price! No frills but a continental breakfast and clean, quiet room on the back side of hotel next to Sugarloaf Bluff. Wireless was a little weak in the room but could pick it up strong in the lobby over a free cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Choose the back side away from the parking lot and Hwy 61.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
44
19
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

You get what you pay for. This is a low budget hotel. Thin walls, thin doors, thin floors. Non smoking rooms smell musty and smell like they were once smoking rooms. Dirty floors, holey mattresses, unwashed linens when I got there. Didn't have my reservation when I checked in.

Room Tip: Choose second or third floor. First floor is below ground. Rooms on the south side might be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Price was right
Basic room, coffee pot, hot water
Wi-fi
Clean? Ok-keep your socks on
basic breakfast, getting really good with the waffle machine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. Easy to reach, good parking, close to shopping mall. Rooms have a decent size, bathroom and carpets seemed fairly clean. Working WiFi even at the end of the building. Free breakfast is better than in other hotels of similar price range. Service is quite friendly once you get them going. Overall: for the price ($65.00 plus taxes) definitely worth it. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main road (can be a bit noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINLEY PARK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is the 4th motel we have stayed in since our daughter started at WSU in the Fall of 2011. For the money, it is the best value compared to the Holiday Inn Express, AmericInn and the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable, affordable, the breakfast with the Bloedow doughnuts is very nice. The last time we stayed we used a coupon from our daughter's Saver Coupon book with brought the price of our room down to $49. Everywhere else is at least $80-$90 a night. Would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side that faces the bluff are quieter, but we have stayed on both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona

Address: 1025 Sugarloaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Winona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.