We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Winona

Super 8 Winona
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Winona to your Saves list
Super 8 Winona
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1025 Sugarloaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987 (Formerly Nichols Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ok for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Price was right
Basic room, coffee pot, hot water
Wi-fi
Clean? Ok-keep your socks on
basic breakfast, getting really good with the waffle machine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
54
23
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. Easy to reach, good parking, close to shopping mall. Rooms have a decent size, bathroom and carpets seemed fairly clean. Working WiFi even at the end of the building. Free breakfast is better than in other hotels of similar price range. Service is quite friendly once you get them going. Overall: for the price ($65.00 plus taxes) definitely worth it. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main road (can be a bit noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINLEY PARK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is the 4th motel we have stayed in since our daughter started at WSU in the Fall of 2011. For the money, it is the best value compared to the Holiday Inn Express, AmericInn and the Plaza. The rooms are comfortable, affordable, the breakfast with the Bloedow doughnuts is very nice. The last time we stayed we used a coupon from our daughter's Saver Coupon book with brought the price of our room down to $49. Everywhere else is at least $80-$90 a night. Would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the parking lot side that faces the bluff are quieter, but we have stayed on both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here March 4, 2012. The room and morning breakfast were satisfactory; I would say very good for the price. There did seem to be pride in the management of the motel. The toilet was running slow, but I was able to use their plunger and get it going ok. I agree with the other reviews that say ok but not exceptional. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

No frills hotel but exceptionally clean and a friendly and efficient staff. They were very accommodating. First we needed a fridge to keep my husband's medications in and then we needed to change rooms types from a single king to a double queen while still keeping the fridge. We literally switched rooms in a manner of 8 minutes. Had a nice complimentary breakfast that included make yourself waffles(fresh batter and you operated this niftly little waffle iron). It was truly a great bang for your buck. We definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a good basic motel right off highway 90 on the edge of Winona. The staff was very helpful and polite, and the breakfasts were great! We got a room with a microwave and refrigerator (for a few dollars more) which helped me a lot in making safe meals (food allergies).

There had been heavy rains earlier in the week so the rooms were quite musty and the windows were open to refresh the rooms when we arrived. (This was in spite of the fact that the temperature was in the 40s!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have stayed at Nichols Inn many times since their renovation, and always a target when we are in the area. Nice, clean rooms, comfortable, easy access, and good rates, with excellent desk service make it a good value. Front desk staff has been very friendly, professional and efficient. Breakfast provided is just right. Not the fanciest, but a very good value, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Winona

Address: 1025 Sugarloaf Rd, Junction of 61/14/43, Winona, MN 55987 (Formerly Nichols Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Winona 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Winona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.