We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS, STAY AWAY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverport Inn Express Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverport Inn Express Suites to your Saves list
Riverport Inn Express Suites
900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Lancaster, WI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BED BUGS, STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here as we attended a wedding reception that was held here. The night after we left the hotel, my body started to burn & itch very bad & then all the welts started....I am horrified as I have never had contact with bed bugs before. We stayed in room 111 which is poolside. Also when using the sink....the water & drain would smell very strong of sewer smell, Was almost impossible to brush my teeth with. I contacted the manager today to inform them & she did not seem concerned (& I do not think she believed me). No apology at all from her. The rooms look ok but BEWARE!! I have spent my entire day today washing everything that we had at the hotel in hot water....hope it's good enough & that none came home with us!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverportinn, General Manager at Riverport Inn Express Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us.
The Riverport does not have BED BUGS! We are aware of the risks to our hotel with guests staying with us from around the world.
*The Riverport received a 100% on our Winona County Lodging Inspection.
*We are contracted with Wil Kil and inspected every 3 weeks.
*We treat our beds every 2 weeks as preventative maintenance.
*We recently purchased all new beds for every room.
*We have a new bedding package that includes triple sheeting and down comforters.
*The room you stayed in has had 27 different guests stay before you and 7 guests since your stay last weekend and we have had no complaints.
Please feel free to call me personally to discuss any of your concerns. A copy of our Winona County Lodging report as well as Wil Kil reports are available to anyone that would like to see them.

We need guest feedback to help us maintain the high standards that our guests expect and we welcome any comments you wish to share with us.
Again please accept my sincere apology and hopefully you will give us another chance to meet your hotel expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed just one night as we were in town for a music festival after a multiple day bicycle ride in this beautiful region. We had 2 beds and a really comfy recliner in the room along with a flat screen and the basic necessities. Check in / out were fine and the free continental breakfast was also standard - it was a busy weekend with multiple events and groups staying, but things seemed under control and decent. This is an older property with some upgrades here and there, and certainly passable for a nights stay - also certainly not the nicest place we've ever stayed, but it worked fine! Pool room is big and fun for families, and the bar / pizza joint attached were packed the evening we were there. Over all, this isn't a hotel that is going to amaze you, but it suits its purpose just fine.

Room Tip: Outside facing rooms do have a sliding door that allows fresh air into the room if it is a nice time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very good stay at the Riverport Inn. The check in/check out process was quick and easy. The location is great with a view of Sugar Loaf Bluff and close to the intersection of the major roads. The continental breakfast was enjoyable. The amenities of the heated indoor pool/hottub & workout room were great. The towels were wonderful because they did not have the smell of bleach and were not rough on the skin like some hotel towels can be. I did not rate this hotel excellent because I felt that the cleanliness of the room could have been stepped up a notch. ie dust along the edges of the room and one of the main chandeliers in the lobby needed new lightbulbs which is just a sign of negligence. Overall an excellent stay for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We visited this hotel with our children. We were very excited that we were allowed to check in early and the staff when we first checked in were amazing. However, that quickly changed. I believe that all rooms in this hotel have a balcony or patio. We stayed in a pool side room. A table and 4 chairs were directly outside outside our patio door going to the pool--to our assumption, on our patio--. We went to open up the the curtains on the patio door bacause we had heard something hit it (turns out to have been a chair). We had a large group having there supper on what we believed was our patio. That was rude enough, however when we opened the door to go out to the pool--hence the reason we got a poolside room--they would not move. We wound up walking through the hotel to use the main door to the pool area!
We called the office to ask questions--was it our patio? Was it okay to eat by the pool? We were NONE too impressed with the answers we received. The clerk told us that tables were first come first serve (so that means balconies must be as well?) and that food was not allowed. When we asked why they were allowed to eat by the pool, the clerk said they would take care of it. But then informed us that if a mess was made, we may be held responsible...ok, so its not our table, not our patio and they are people we do not know who are blocking the door to our room...but if they make a mess, WE are responsible??? And I should add that it took about 5 calls to even reach anyone at the desk.
We have stayed here several times, but do not think we will be returning anytime soon. My husband and myself have both tried to reach the manager, but as apparently is the norm, no one aswers!
What started out to be a great check in, went downhill very quick!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is very nice! The rooms were clean, and well supplied. The service was wonderful, and the staff was very friendly. Having the bar and grill right there was nice, and being able to go for a nice swim was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyock, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay at Riverport Inn. The rooms were clean and well stocked with amenities. They even upgraded all of the beds during our stay. Very comfortable nights sleep. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the pool, Brewskis' Pub and was able to keep up with our laundry. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Although the walls are thin, I had a decent night's sleep. Room is clean and well supplied. Really appreciated the microwave but the fridge was useless since it had not been plugged in. Rather than unplugging the light, perhaps you could make use of outlet expanders. One issue, common to too many hotels, is the miserably filthy coffee pots. The carafe is always sparkling, but the water reservoir is so disgustingly filthy. These units are rarely checked, cleaned or replaced. Hopefully this will change.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel may be quieter as it faces a Target rather than the main roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverport Inn Express Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverport Inn Express Suites

Address: 900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverport Inn Express Suites of Winona, Minnesota sits between the shores of the Mississippi River and the majestic bluffs surrounding Sugar Loaf Rock. Upon entering the Inn you will be greeted with a friendly smile from our staff, elegant surroundings and a relaxing atmosphere. All of our rooms have been recently updated with new drapes and plush bedding keeping our hotel competitively priced for comparable hotels in the area. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet which includes Belgian waffles and a variety of breakfast items. Rooms with whirlpools, wet bars, and fantasy suites are just some of the many room types available. Unwind with a swim in our luxurious indoor pool or a relaxing soak in our soothing whirlpool. Brewksi’s Pub & Grill, located just off our lobby, has a full menu and bar, along with large screen TVs to watch all the sporting action. Let "Winona’s Finest Lodging" be your home away from home when you visit Winona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverport Inn Express Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverport Inn Express Hotel Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverport Inn Express Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.