We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft Towels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverport Inn Express Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riverport Inn Express Suites to your Saves list
Riverport Inn Express Suites
900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Soft Towels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very good stay at the Riverport Inn. The check in/check out process was quick and easy. The location is great with a view of Sugar Loaf Bluff and close to the intersection of the major roads. The continental breakfast was enjoyable. The amenities of the heated indoor pool/hottub & workout room were great. The towels were wonderful because they did not have the smell of bleach and were not rough on the skin like some hotel towels can be. I did not rate this hotel excellent because I felt that the cleanliness of the room could have been stepped up a notch. ie dust along the edges of the room and one of the main chandeliers in the lobby needed new lightbulbs which is just a sign of negligence. Overall an excellent stay for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
11
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We visited this hotel with our children. We were very excited that we were allowed to check in early and the staff when we first checked in were amazing. However, that quickly changed. I believe that all rooms in this hotel have a balcony or patio. We stayed in a pool side room. A table and 4 chairs were directly outside outside our patio door going to the pool--to our assumption, on our patio--. We went to open up the the curtains on the patio door bacause we had heard something hit it (turns out to have been a chair). We had a large group having there supper on what we believed was our patio. That was rude enough, however when we opened the door to go out to the pool--hence the reason we got a poolside room--they would not move. We wound up walking through the hotel to use the main door to the pool area!
We called the office to ask questions--was it our patio? Was it okay to eat by the pool? We were NONE too impressed with the answers we received. The clerk told us that tables were first come first serve (so that means balconies must be as well?) and that food was not allowed. When we asked why they were allowed to eat by the pool, the clerk said they would take care of it. But then informed us that if a mess was made, we may be held responsible...ok, so its not our table, not our patio and they are people we do not know who are blocking the door to our room...but if they make a mess, WE are responsible??? And I should add that it took about 5 calls to even reach anyone at the desk.
We have stayed here several times, but do not think we will be returning anytime soon. My husband and myself have both tried to reach the manager, but as apparently is the norm, no one aswers!
What started out to be a great check in, went downhill very quick!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is very nice! The rooms were clean, and well supplied. The service was wonderful, and the staff was very friendly. Having the bar and grill right there was nice, and being able to go for a nice swim was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyock, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay at Riverport Inn. The rooms were clean and well stocked with amenities. They even upgraded all of the beds during our stay. Very comfortable nights sleep. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We took advantage of the pool, Brewskis' Pub and was able to keep up with our laundry. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Although the walls are thin, I had a decent night's sleep. Room is clean and well supplied. Really appreciated the microwave but the fridge was useless since it had not been plugged in. Rather than unplugging the light, perhaps you could make use of outlet expanders. One issue, common to too many hotels, is the miserably filthy coffee pots. The carafe is always sparkling, but the water reservoir is so disgustingly filthy. These units are rarely checked, cleaned or replaced. Hopefully this will change.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel may be quieter as it faces a Target rather than the main roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAN HORNE
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the onsite pub and the pizza was great. We will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here with my mom and dog (they are pet friendly!) and had a great stay. Despite being pet friendly, there was no unlpleasant smell at all. The hotel was very clean and well maintained, bathrooms updated, beds and linens comfy and spotless. I would definitely stay here again. My only complain is that our keycards were defective seriously about 5 times we had to go get new ones made at the front desk. The staff was great though, it was probably just a technical error that they couldn't be held responsible for. Quiet, good value, all in all a great place to stay. pool and spa are decent, inside, and there are hotel rooms facing them inside which is a bit weird but sort of cool if you have kids that always want to swim. oh yeah, $25 extra for the dog which seemed reasonable.

Room Tip: if traveling with pet, ask for a ground floor room for easy potty time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverport Inn Express Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverport Inn Express Suites

Address: 900 Bruski Drive, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverport Inn Express Suites of Winona, Minnesota sits between the shores of the Mississippi River and the majestic bluffs surrounding Sugar Loaf Rock. Upon entering the Inn you will be greeted with a friendly smile from our staff, elegant surroundings and a relaxing atmosphere. All of our rooms have been recently updated with new drapes and plush bedding keeping our hotel competitively priced for comparable hotels in the area. Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet which includes Belgian waffles and a variety of breakfast items. Rooms with whirlpools, wet bars, and fantasy suites are just some of the many room types available. Unwind with a swim in our luxurious indoor pool or a relaxing soak in our soothing whirlpool. Brewksi’s Pub & Grill, located just off our lobby, has a full menu and bar, along with large screen TVs to watch all the sporting action. Let "Winona’s Finest Lodging" be your home away from home when you visit Winona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverport Inn Express Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverport Inn Express Hotel Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverport Inn Express Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.