We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from the trails!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great River Bluffs State Park

Great River Bluffs State Park
43605 Kipp Dr., Winona, MN 55987-9427
507-643-6849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 attractions in Winona
Type: State Parks, Geologic Formations
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Overlooking the Mississippi River, this park offers scenic views.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great views from the trails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family of four stopped here for one night on our way to Yellowstone.We made reservations online due to the July 4th weekend.We reserved campsite number 10 which was only a few feet from the bathroom.Bathrooms were extremely clean and each had two nice showers.
Our family did two trail runs to the North,South,and East overlook.Well worth the short hike even if your not a runner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway-Dogs Included”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I have gone camping together every summer for the past 3 years, while bringing along our beagle each time. We have been to different camp sites within Minnesota each year. This year my husband put in a lot of time researching possible places to go since we were now bringing two beagles with us ( we had adopted another). He found Great River Bluffs State Park, located only 2.5 hours from where we live. Starting from the beginning, the drive up was very easy and the park entrance was well marked. When we pulled into the park we headed up to the firewood and parking permit station. I personally was a little surprised at first that we were to pay for parking, however, I realized that the campsite cost was reasonable, and I do want MN parks to have the funding to maintain their environment. Besides the parking permit was only $5 per day. After arriving to the campsite, we found that our beagles noticed our campsite neighbors had a dog. They started their barking much to our dismay. Looking around my husband and I noticed a vacant lot. We traveled back up to the front desk to ask if we could switch spots. The park employees were cheerful and very accommodating-making the site register go smoothly. They also made sure for other campers that our dogs would not bark if we moved. Soon after moving sites, we unpacked. The site we stayed in was gorgeous and tucked away behind trees and bushes. There was a large space for our tent, the picnic table was movable (not something that’s always available), and the fire pit had a grate that could be set over the flames for cooking (something my husband is fond of, but hasn’t always found).

We set out on our first walk through the site, which led us to one of the overlooks. We were able to walk through a forest with clear walking paths and look over incredible views of the Mississippi river, lush rolling hills, and valleys for as far as the eye could see. During the weekend we were able to hike for 15miles going on three-four different paths. Each walking path gave a new view, new perspective, while consistently keeping the breath-taking reaction. Over all I would recommend this site. It’s a great place right in the MN’s backyard, where you can still feel like you may be states away. I would love to go back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Trails and Scenic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great River Bluffs State Park is a well maintained state park near the Wisconsin/Minnesota border. There are wonderful scenic views of the Mississippi River Valley, and great hikes for summertime, or snowshoeing and cross country skiing during the winter. If you are looking for a shorter hike, this is your park. There are benches along the way to rest, and signs telling you where you are in the park, and explaining some of the wildlife, vegetation, and geography of the land. Most trails can be completed in under 2 hours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Walked to the look outs, they are breath taking, the picnic areas are great.....just loved it up there....check it out :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The fall color is beautiful, the hikes are easy and the vistas overlooking the river are beautiful. I was here for sunrise photography and got some great shots.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great River Bluffs State Park also viewed

 

Been to Great River Bluffs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great River Bluffs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great River Bluffs State Park to your Saves list