We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was clean, and I was upgraded to a suite. The room was very comfortable. The fitness room was also very nice. The hotel provided a coupon for the restaurant next door, which turned out to be a nice restaurant.

The only con would be that my non smoking room had been smoked in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
22
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed in a room with two queen beds, the room was the largest non-suite hotel room I've ever stayed in. Room and hotel were clean and fairly modern. WiFi was free and worked well. Breakfast was free, we had biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, pancakes plus other typical continental breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel during a very busy weekend. It was comfortable, and we were pleased with the staff's efforts to shuffle rooms on a fully-booked weekend so that we could stay in the same room both nights. The hotel itself is fine--generally clean with an adequate free breakfast. The pool is terribly small, but it is nice that there is also a kiddie pool for those with small children, plus a hot tub and small sauna.

We were disappointed with housekeeping, however. Our room was not serviced until almost 4 p.m., and when the maid did finally come, she very obviously wanted us to say that we didn't need anything from her. She was clearly reluctant to do her work and suggested that we could do without housekeeping. When we made it clear that we DID want housekeeping services, having used all our towels, etc., much earlier in the day, she did service our room. However, it was clearly a quick job, as she didn't check the coffee area, etc., leaving out dirty cups and pot, forgetting to restock the coffee, and also neglecting to restock the water glasses and such in the bathroom.

Also regarding housekeeping in general, there were only 2 small towels left in the pool area when we were there in the afternoon, the edges of carpets are dusty, and breakfast garbage cans were overflowing. Maybe this weekend was just too busy for them to do their usual job.

So overall, an average hotel with below average housekeeping, at least in this case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinonaHIE, Gueat Services Representative at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear olliesmom51,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We were pleased to know that the front desk was accommodating to your needs. However, we were sorry to hear that housekeeping did not meet your expectations. The information was passed on to the housekeeping manager so that we may give better service to you in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms and lobby area were clean and accommodating. This was my first stay in a HIE, and I would definitely consider staying again in the future. More options with the included breakfast than I was expecting, so that was a nice plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is next to the previous Holiday Inn hotel (shared lot). The interior is laid out in a very user friendly manner. Rooms are spacious and include microwaves and some with sitting rooms or separate bedrooms.

The pool area is comfortable and allows for your kids to play in a kid's pool, while the parents sit in the adjacent hot tub. There are also a regular pool and sauna in the same area.

Breakfast is ample and changes slightly each day. The breakfast includes cereals, juices, milk, yogurt, waffles, Various hot items and many more items to choose from.

Room Tip: Up grade to the suite at a nominal cost or use your Holiday Inn upgrade. It will be worth while for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at almost every ghost hotel in Winona and we like this one the best. We had a great room with king for us and side room with 2 twin beds for the kids. $185 for the night. Very spacious. Pool was nice versus Plaza hotel next door which claimed that they have a "indoor water park" but really don't. Breakfast was okay. Plaza does not have a breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

standard Holiday Inn but we were as gold member upgraded to a suite and sorry we were only there for one night! This hotel is in an excellent location for downtown Winona as well as Pikes Peak state park and the river. Excellent restaurant right outside the front door. We were made very welcome here and found the hotel clean and comfortable. This is probably the best place to stay in Winona without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Address: 1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona, MN, the newest hotel addition to the Winona Area.Conveniently located off HWY 61/43 the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona is minutes from Winona Lake Park, the Upper Mississippi Wildlife Area, and all recreational opportunities offered by our Upper Mississippi River location.Business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to major businesses such as Fastenal, TRW, RTP, and John Deere. If you are visiting St.Mary s University, the University of Winona, or Winona Technical College you will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers the finest accommodations for your stay. If you are bringing your family to Winona, MN, let the Holiday Inn Express and Suites be your home away from home as you enjoy local attractions such as Minnesota Equestrian Center, the Eagle Watch or Swan Watch, and Garvin Heights Lookout.Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers great amenities for both business and leisure guests including our Stay Smart Hot Breakfast, 24 hour business center, and free wired and wireless high speed internet throughout the hotel. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool; let the kids play in the zero entry kid s pool; wind down with a steam in our indoor sauna.Whether traveling on buisiness or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Winona is the right hotel choice for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winona
Holiday Inn Express Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.