We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, and a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, and a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms and lobby area were clean and accommodating. This was my first stay in a HIE, and I would definitely consider staying again in the future. More options with the included breakfast than I was expecting, so that was a nice plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
21
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is next to the previous Holiday Inn hotel (shared lot). The interior is laid out in a very user friendly manner. Rooms are spacious and include microwaves and some with sitting rooms or separate bedrooms.

The pool area is comfortable and allows for your kids to play in a kid's pool, while the parents sit in the adjacent hot tub. There are also a regular pool and sauna in the same area.

Breakfast is ample and changes slightly each day. The breakfast includes cereals, juices, milk, yogurt, waffles, Various hot items and many more items to choose from.

Room Tip: Up grade to the suite at a nominal cost or use your Holiday Inn upgrade. It will be worth while for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have stayed at almost every ghost hotel in Winona and we like this one the best. We had a great room with king for us and side room with 2 twin beds for the kids. $185 for the night. Very spacious. Pool was nice versus Plaza hotel next door which claimed that they have a "indoor water park" but really don't. Breakfast was okay. Plaza does not have a breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

standard Holiday Inn but we were as gold member upgraded to a suite and sorry we were only there for one night! This hotel is in an excellent location for downtown Winona as well as Pikes Peak state park and the river. Excellent restaurant right outside the front door. We were made very welcome here and found the hotel clean and comfortable. This is probably the best place to stay in Winona without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a very clean and comfortable hotels with no thrills. Our daughter goes to Winona State and we have stayed at many different hotels and one B&Bin the Winona area. This is the best location in Winona. Breakfast is typical and similar to most hotel complimentary breakfasts. Rates are slightly higher than most of the other hotels in town. I would stay here again based on the other choices available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear WIBuckeye,

Thank you for your review. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel feels new. The staff was friendly on the phone and in person. Check-in and check-out could not have been quicker for those in a hurry. The room and the bed was larger than normal and quite comfortable. The breakfast area feels bigger than other similar Holiday Inn Express hotels. Location is good, no matter what direction you are coming from or going to. It is a few miles in from Interstate 90, with restaurants, service stations, shopping and the biggest hospital right near by.

Room Tip: AAA rate was the best price. I was able to get a room late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Room was clean and well appointed. Staff was friendly and they provided the automatic upgrade. Right across the parking lot from a nice restaurant bar. Good location for Winona. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona

Address: 1128 Homer Rd, Winona, MN 55987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona, MN, the newest hotel addition to the Winona Area.Conveniently located off HWY 61/43 the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona is minutes from Winona Lake Park, the Upper Mississippi Wildlife Area, and all recreational opportunities offered by our Upper Mississippi River location.Business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to major businesses such as Fastenal, TRW, RTP, and John Deere. If you are visiting St.Mary s University, the University of Winona, or Winona Technical College you will find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers the finest accommodations for your stay. If you are bringing your family to Winona, MN, let the Holiday Inn Express and Suites be your home away from home as you enjoy local attractions such as Minnesota Equestrian Center, the Eagle Watch or Swan Watch, and Garvin Heights Lookout.Holiday Inn Express and Suites Winona offers great amenities for both business and leisure guests including our Stay Smart Hot Breakfast, 24 hour business center, and free wired and wireless high speed internet throughout the hotel. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool and whirlpool; let the kids play in the zero entry kid s pool; wind down with a steam in our indoor sauna.Whether traveling on buisiness or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Winona is the right hotel choice for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winona
Holiday Inn Express Winona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.