We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't need ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchants Bank

Merchants Bank
102 E. 3rd St, Winona, MN 55987
507 457 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Winona
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You don't need ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

... my recommendation! The place is gorgeous. It's s nice to see his work in this very formal framework.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
290 attraction reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Architecture is really stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We walked around the town of Winona and came upon the Merchants Bank. Very stunning architecture with the red brick.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Still in Awe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I remember this building as a kid in the fifties. A recent trip to downtown Winona brought brought those memories. It was unique then and still is. Irreplaceable part of historical architecture.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A beautiful piece of architecture from an era long gone, and blends in perfectly with the historic downtown of Winona. Feels like stepping back in time when you go do to your banking there and even if not a customer, you are welcome to come in and drink in the feeling of history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WOW! And it is a working bank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you like Frank Lloyd Wright and Tiffany Studios, or big game hunting in Africa or just really cool buildings, you should not miss this. The bank is a real operational bank, tending to customers while also allowing tours of this very beautiful and interesting building. I wish this was our bank! Great stained glass, great architectural design and construction and interesting exhibits to boot. The stone work is as good as I have seen anywhere in green and gray. Offices and conference rooms were open for viewing. A large collection of big game and the guns used to kill them is also well displayed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Bank also viewed

 

Been to Merchants Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchants Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.