We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite but very long queues for the showers & toilets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenlough Campsite

Glenlough Campsite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlough Campsite
Save
You added Glenlough Campsite to your Saves list
Ballahutchin Hill, Union Mills IM4 4AT   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great campsite but very long queues for the showers & toilets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have just returned from a great week at the TT and the campsite was great. Marquee with bands on every night for free, wifi in the pitstop, pitches next to the TT course and lots of great viewing points. Only 2 downsides for me.

There are not enough showers & toilets when the site is full and I heard people saying they would not stay here again because of this. Men were always queueing not so bad for us ladies as there were fewer of us.

The other problem is the access during closed roads. There is no other way out so if you need to get your ferry home you have to pack up and get out before the roads close. We got caught out once and had to leeave our car and take a long walk to get back to the campsite along the heritage trail.

I would stay here again even though it was VERY noisy during race week...I just took some ear plugs!.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs and a bucket to pee in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location but nowhere near enough toilet/shower facilities for a 350 tent site!! Queuing starts from 6am to well into 11.30am!

Come on owners of Glenlough, the TT is BIG MONEY time for you, lets have more toilet and shower facilities (not portaloos!!)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back after camping at Glenlough Campsite. We spent a very enjoyable week watching the riders take part in practice week. The site is situated in a picturesque area of Union Mills and provides ample space for visitors. TT weeks are manic at Glenlough the site is packed with bikers of all over Europe and beyond and becomes a Mecca for road racing fans. Unless you are a true motorcycle enthusiast don't even think about staying at Glenlough during TT weeks.

The facilities are woefully inadequate when the site is busy, the people waiting to use the showers are often ten to fifteen deep at busy times. As you would expect during TT weeks the site is noisy with bikes hitting their rev limiters on a regular basis during the early hours of the morning!

The site is well run and the facilities are well kept and clean. The beer tent (without the beer!) is handy during the bad weather with some good acts during the TT. Well worth a visit if you don't mind the mayhem.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We travelled from Runcorn all eight of us via pushbikes and ferry and after a short ride uphill we arrived at our destination slightly out of puff, as we didn't find the heritage trail until the second day that goes all the way from douglas McDonalds to the camp site and onto Peel.
We took little gear with us as we had booked the Pods which are superb, they come with a small heater, which we didn't need to use and a little lamp and accommodated four in each comfortably (I would suggest a small extension if you require but the Pit stop area has sufficient sockets for charging of equipment) there is a bbq out side if you wish to use or to just have a fire to sit and relax around in the evening.

We were given a warm welcome and also advice on where to eat and drink although we had planned to go to the Creek Inn in Peel approx 9 mile from the camp along the trail at the rear of the camp.
The facilities were spotless as was the whole site but do watch that cold water tap in the gents....very powerful !!!

We would highly recommend Glenlough Campsite to all and say "Hi" to Sheila and Pete form the Jolly boys.



Hi Sheila and Peter,

We are the lads that stayed this weekend 16/04/14 in the pods.

We would like to thank you for your hospitality and warm welcome, the campsite is excellent and suited us perfectly not only with the situation but with the services too and we will definitely be returning again in the future for another ‘Jolly boys adventure’.

May I take this opportunity to thank Sheila for the honesty regarding the mix up of pod bookings, we never actually notice and were more than happy with where we were and size. The refund bought our breakfasts so we would ALL like to say “Thank you very much” there are not many people as sincere and honest as that in the world.

We wish you well for the future and hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks from the Jolly boys

Tom McGrath
David Timperley
Phil Wilkins
John Nuttal
Paul O’sullivan
Noel Ramsey
Karl Ramsey
Harry Simmons

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

stayed here for seven nights during TT in 2009. Easy acess to all the good viewing spots to watch practice or races, not too far from Douglas and nightspots. Great clubhouse with bar/food. Shower facilities very clean and weren't overcrowded. Friendly staff, bus stop just down the road. Shop within walking distance, flat screen and bar food including breakfast supplied in the clubhouse-nice food and very reasonable. Have nothing bad to say about this place-the bike and our belongings were safe, it wasn't too racous at night so we could sleep but still have fun. Could charge phones for free and most importantly ladies....you can bring your hair dryers, straighteners etc..as there are sockets everywhere plus ladies toilets and showers are very girl friendly. Rejoice!!! Also check out the Railway bar up the road. Great spot. Five stars :)

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to the Isle of Man, with basic camping gear, on our push bikes and the ferry of course. The Glenlough campsite is approximately 3 miles from Douglas on the road to Peel, and there is a bus stop right outside the entrance. We were welcomed warmly on our early evening arrival and made aware of the facilities which are exemplary with plenty of toilets and showers, a wash room and not least of all the Pitstop. The Pitstop was a god send for us as we'd taken a three man tent for the two of us so we were snug to say the least. The Pitstop is a communal space with lots of charging points for phones, laptops etc, wifi, large flat screen tele, lots of tables and seating and the opportunity to meet fellow campers/travellers and share the days experiences. The campsite offers extensive views of the beautiful countryside that it's nestled in and there is a pub, restaurant and a Spar within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenlough Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlough Campsite

Address: Ballahutchin Hill, Union Mills IM4 4AT
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Union Mills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Union Mills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenlough Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.